LibGuides UFV: Canadian History: Introduction

Andrew Smith's Blog

Professor of history at Laurentian University in Sudbury, Andrew Smith discusses current events from a historian's point of view

ActiveHistory.ca blog connecting current affairs with history, written by PhD students from York University.

Short on time? Just want to dive right in? Start here.

America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
All subjects. Full text. Coverage starts with Vol. 1, No. 1 of all titles, and goes up to 3 to 5 years ago. This collection is linked to America: History and Life.
UFV Library Catalogue This link opens in a new window
Find books, videos and more in the UFV library.

Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online
Excellent authoritative source for historical Canadian biography.

Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canadian newspapers, magazines and journals. Includes full text articles.

My Library Account
See what books you have out, renew them or place holds.
Library How-to's/FAQs
Libanswers provides you with access to various tutorials on using the library ... from the library catalogue to "Full Text Finder" and frequently asked questions.
Guide for Students at a Distance
Don't come to campus? These services are for you.
Assignment Planner
Tips and strategies for completing your research project on time.

by James Madison Alden between 1857 and 1862 (this work is in the public domain)