LibGuides UFV: Open Educational Resources: Finding OER

OER by Discipline

Looking for resources in your specific disciplinary area? A few useful resource lists:

OER by Discipline Guide
The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Guide lists a range of open educational resources organized by discipline. This guide is updated as new resources are identified.
ADOPTION FINDER: Open Textbooks for B.C. Post-Secondary Courses
This finder was created to help post-secondary instructors identify open textbooks currently in use (adopted) at colleges, institutes, and universities in British Columbia that might be suitable for their course, as well as, transferable courses based on the course transfer agreements in this province. Each adopted textbook is matched to a course, identified by its course code.
Affordable Learning Solutions: Open Educational Resources by College
This San Jose State University Library guide provides a list of the OER organised by college and department.
OER Commons Browse
Use the filters to limit to specific subject areas, as well as other options such as types of materials.

Not finding what you need?

Contact the Copyright Librarian for additional assistance:

Contact Copyright Librarian

Search BCcampus OER

Search the BC Open Textbook Collection

The B.C. Open Textbook Collection is home to a growing selection of open textbooks for a variety of subjects and specialties. Discover open textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty, meet accessibility requirements, and/or include ancillary materials (quizzes, test banks, slides, videos, etc.).

Browse B.C. Open Collection

Search Engines for OERs

These search engines are designed specifically to find OER materials:

Serendipity
A linked Open Course Ware Search is an independent search engine that indexes the information found in the best free university courses online so you can find these courses faster.
OER Commons
Search across collections from 120 content providers allowing access to over 30,000 items.

Search For OERs Using OASIS

Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records. This search tool is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library:

About OASIS

Open Courses

Open Yale Courses
Provides free and open access to a selection of introductory courses at Yale University with the aim to expand access to educational materials for all who wish to learn. Most content is CC BY-SA
Carnegie Mellon University Open Learning Initiative
Offers online courses to anyone who wants to learn or teach with the aim to transform higher education by combining open, high-quality courses, continuous feedback, and research. Content is CC BY-SA.
The Open University
The United Kingdom's leading open university offers courses at all levels, and develops and delivers a model of distance learning they call "supported open learning". Materials are openly licensed, but some specific attribution is required.
Peer 2 Peer University
Courses use educational materials openly available online incorporated within a peer community learning model.

Open Badges

An open badge is essentially a digital credential that allows the representation and verification of knowledge, achievement(s), interest(s), and/or specific skill(s). Open badges are not intended to replace or subsititute credentials earned from an academic institution, but, rather, they represent a concept shift towards complementing traditional forms of credentials, such as degrees, diplomas, and certificates, with credible recognition of knowledge acquired through non-traditional channels - most typically online environments.

Here are a few examples of open badge platforms and uses: