Skip to main content
UFV A - Z | myUFV | Academic Calendar | IT Help Desk | Library | MyClass | Directory

/library

Using Find It: Overview

A guide to UFV's Ebsco Discovery Service.

Introduction

This guide has been developed as an introduction to the Find It Discovery Service at UFV. 

When should I use Find It?

Find It is a great place to start your research.  It helps you quickly find relevant resources on a subject, without having to decide which database(s) to search.  The facets allow you to limit your search results in a variety of ways, including date range, source type, subject, and scholarly designation.  The library's catalogued resources are also integrated into the search results.

When should I NOT use Find It?

To find Canadian newspaper articles, use Canadian Newsstand and CPI-Q. These are not directly indexed in Find It.

To take advantage of the richest features of a database, including the subject thesaurus or specialized limiters, you may choose to search a specific subject relevant database.  For example, Business Source Complete, PsycINFO, and Medline have powerful features only available in their unique interfaces. 

Start Here

Limit Your Results (optional)
~ OR ~

What is Find It?

Find It , formerly known as the EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS), provides a single, unified search box for searching the UFV Library's information resources, including scholarly journal articles, books, e-books, internet documents, research reports, and much more.  Features of the service include:

  • Single, simple entry point for searching many databases at once, including the UFV Library catalogue
  • Pre-indexing of a vast quantity of metadata ensures immediate search results
  • Detailed metadata (e.g., author-supplied abstracts,keywords, subjects)
  • Indexing for thousands of journals from publishers such as Sage, Elsevier, Wiley, Taylor & Francis, and Cambridge
  • Complete library catalogue loaded directly into EDS, with availability checks and daily updates
  • Ability to limit searches by date, source type, subject, content provider, full text availability, scholarly designation and more
  • Powerful, user-friendly interface based on the familiar EBSCOhost platform

Need help? Ask us!

Abbotsford
(604) 854-4545
Chilliwack
(604) 795-2824
Chat with an AskAway Librarian

About your privacy: Your use of the AskAway chat reference service is voluntary. To maintain your privacy, do not provide personal information (e.g., name, email address) as data may be stored in the U.S. and subject to their laws.

© University of the Fraser Valley,
33844 King Road, Abbotsford, B.C., Canada V2S 7M8