Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Newman Western Canadian Cookbook Collection: Access the Collection

A Special Collection of culinary titles from the provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia as well as the Yukon and Northwest Territories.

Digitizing the Newman Western Canadian Cookbook Collection

New royal cook book by Royal Baking Powder Company published in 1922

Explore the Newman collection online.  We are in the process of digitizing many
of the titles in the collection.  All titles that are digitized will be available
to view in UFV's institutional repository, HarvestIR.

 

How to Access the Newman Cookbook Collection

The following are the guidelines for accessing Newman Western Canadian Cookbook Collection which is located in the Abbotsford Campus library:

  • The Collection is searchable through the UFV Library's catalogue (see the search box below).  The collection resides in our Special Collections' vault which is only accessible by UFV Library staff.
  • You will be asked to provide a drivers’ license or student card, which will be kept by staff while the cookbook titles are being used.
  • A form must be filled out for each item used. If you are not a student or a community borrower, you will be asked to provide your name and address instead.
  • Cookbook titles must be used with staff supervision. You must remain at the designated desk space at the circulation desk to use these special materials.
  • Each item will be checked when it is returned to ensure it is in the same condition as when it was given to you.
  • There may be times when we are short on staff to retrieve requested items (i.e. evening or weekends).  You can make an appointment to view cookbook titles during times when we have more staff available to help.  Please use our Reference Request Form (see link below)

Searching for Cookbooks using the Library's Catalogue

The Newman Western Canadian Cookbook Collection

 

Advanced Search

To browse the collection, just hit the search button above.

 

You can also see what we have available in the main collection by using the search box or links below.

Search for books, e-books, and videos
    Author    

Request an Appointment to View the Collection

Request an Appointment

Appointments are available: Monday to Friday, 9:00am - 4:30pm (last appointment starts at 4:00pm) in Abbotsford

Find Books at Other Libraries

To find and request books from other libraries, try the following:

WorldCat's Cookbook Finder

Need help? Ask us!

Library Hours
UFV libraries are OPEN and ready to serve you for the Fall 2021 semester.
Chat loading...
© University of the Fraser Valley,
33844 King Road, Abbotsford, B.C., Canada V2S 7M8