Skip to main content

Publisher Responses to COVID-19: Home

This guide will summarize new full text content available to the UFV community throughout the COVID-19 pandemic.

Introduction

This guide summarizes new full text content being made available by publishers in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The library is working to facilitate or publicize access as much as possible. This is a rapidly changing situation and this page will be updated frequently with new information. These publisher offers are for a limited time only.

How to discover new content

Set up Google Scholar to find UFV Resources

Take a few steps to set up Google Scholar to find UFV's licensed resources.

  1. Go to scholar.google.ca
  2. Click on the menu icon (3 lines)
  3. Click on Settings
  4. Click on Library Links
  5. Type Fraser Valley in the search box
  6. Select University of the Fraser Valley - Full Text Links at UFV
  7. Click on Save
  8. When you do a Google Scholar search you will see the link to Full Text Finder at UFV on the right side of the search results.

Cambridge University Press Expanded Access Title List - ACCESS ends June 29th, 2020

Springer Nature Textbook Title List

Elsevier Textbook Title List

Journal Content

Provider Description of Resource Expiry  Library Action
Annual Reviews ACCESS  HAS ENDED. All 52 Annual Review journals 30 June Activated in FIND IT Discovery Service March 27. Removed June 29.
Berghahn Journals ACCESS HAS ENDED. 36 scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities 30 June Activated in FIND IT Discovery Service April 28. Removed June 29.
Cochrane Library ACCESS HAS ENDED. Systematic Reviews, trials, clinical answers TBA None required
EBSCO ACCESS HAS ENDED. Upgrade to Academic Search Ultimate database 29 June Activated in FIND IT Discovery Service March 27. Removed June 29.
EBSCO ACCESS HAS ENDED. Upgrade to Business Source Ultimate database 29 June Activated in FIND IT Discovery Service March 27. Removed June 29.
EBSCO ACCESS HAS ENDED. Upgrade to Medline Complete database 29 June Activated in FIND IT Discovery Service March 30. Removed June 29.
JSTOR Additional journal archive collections being added Extended to 31 Dec Activated in FIND IT Discovery Service March 31
University of California Press ACCESS HAS ENDED. 46 full text journals in the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences 30 June Activated in FIND IT Discovery Service March 27. Removed June 29.
       

 

Book Content

Provider Description of Resource Expiry Library Action
Internet Archive ACCESS HAS ENDED. National Emergency Library of over 1.4 million ebooks
are available for borrowing. Users can create a few account and can check out up to 10 books at a time.

ENDED June 16, 2020. 

None required.
Cambridge University Press

ACCESS HAS ENDED. Cambridge Companions, Cambridge Histories and Cambridge Elements on Cambridge Core.
Access to over 700 HTML textbooks.  See list of titles included in this LibGuide.
Content is accessible by searching the Cambridge University Press platform.

ENDS JUNE 29th. Access granted by publisher March 27
EBSCO ACCESS HAS ENDED. Harvard Business Review EBook Collection. 30 May Activated in FIND IT Discovery Service
April 3. Removed June 25.
Elsevier 256 Textbooks across many subjects (published between 1977 and 2020).  See list of titles included in this LibGuide. Content is accessible by searching the ScienceDirect platform.  31 Aug Enabled for Elsevier customers.
GeoScienceWorld ACCESS  HAS ENDED. Ebooks related to Earth Sciences, from GeoScienceWorld publishers.
Content is accessible by searching the GSW platform.
30 June Activated in FIND IT Discovery Service April 2.  Removed June 29.
MIT Press ACCESS HAS ENDED Over 2700 MIT Press Ebooks. Content is accessible by searching the MIT Press platform. Extended to June 30 Activated in FIND IT Discovery Service March 31. Removed June 29.
National Network for Equitable Library Service

Freely Available Reading and other Resources during the COVID-19 Pandemic.  The list includes audio books and children's books.

  None required.
Project Muse ACCESS HAS ENDED. 15,000 ebooks from various academic publishers.
Content is accessible by searching the Project Muse platform.
31 May to 30 June 
(varies by publisher)
Activated in FIND IT Discovery Service
March 27. Removed June 29.
Proquest E-Book Central Existing ebook licenses upgraded to unlimited simultaneous users
for over 100 publishers.
30 June None required.
Springer Nature 500 textbooks in Chemistry, Computer Science, Business, Economics, Engineering, Math, Physics and Behavioral Science. Content is accessible by searching the Springer Nature platform or using the links in the spreadsheet attached on this guide. 31 July None required.
University of Michigan Press ACCESS HAS ENDED. Over 1150 books in the University of Michigan Press Ebook collection.  Books are free to read, but not free to download.
Content is accessible by searching the U of Michigan Press platform.
30 June None required.
       

 

COVID-19 Specific Resources

Provider Description of Resource Expiry Library Action
Brill Publisher ACCESS HAS ENDED. COVID-19 Collection of ebooks on distance learning, public health, crisis research.   None required
Copyright Clearance
Center
Links to COVID-19 resources being made publicly available by publishers and organizations.    
EBSCO Dynamed Point of care content for Clinicians re: COVID-19 30 June None required
EBSCO COVID-19 Information Portal   None required
Elsevier Novel Coronavirus Information Center: Elsevier's free health and medical research on the novel Coronavirus  (SARS CoV-2 and COVID-19)   None required
OECD Tackling the Coronavirus (COVID-19): Contributing to a Global Effort - 

Looks at impacts and consequences of the coronavirus pandemic on our lives and our societies – and at the solutions we can find to boost our healthcare systems, secure our businesses, maintain our jobs and education, and stabilise financial markets and economies.

  None required
Proquest Coronavirus Research Database includes thousands of open-access articles
from the world's leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories.
  None 
required.
Salem Press Pandemics: The Invisible Enemy features important information on pandemics throughout world history, including COVID-19.   None required.
US National Library of Medicine/NIH PubMed is acting as a central repository for the latest COVID-19 research   None required
       

 

© University of the Fraser Valley,
33844 King Road, Abbotsford, B.C., Canada V2S 7M8