LibGuides UFV: 2SLGBTQAI+: Journals

UFV Journals

Find journals on related topics:

Human Rights Journals:

Human Rights Journals

Gay and Lesbian Journals:

Lesbian and Gay journals

Transgender Journals:

Transgender Journals

Browse all UFV Journals:

UFV Journals List List of all print and electronic journals available at UFV; search for a specific journal title or browse by subject.

Types of Journals

Not all journals are created equal, and not all will be appropriate for every research need. These are the most common types of journals you are likely to encounter in your research, presented in order from most to least academic or scholarly:

Scholarly Journals: reports of original research, theoretical, experimental or applied; many are refereed/peer-reviewed
Trade/Professional Journals: current trends, news & events in a particular field; some are peer-reviewed
Journals of Commentary or Opinion: commentary on political & social issues; often source of specific political viewpoint, e.g., conservative, liberal, or specific interest group
Newspapers: current information, news stories; local & regional focus
Popular Magazines: current events & news; primary source for popular culture

Types of Periodicals

Finding Journal Articles

Journal articles can be useful sources of information for almost any subject area. They contain current information or research, and are usually written on specific aspects of a topic.

Use research databases to search for articles on a specific topic. Databases can be accessed from off campus by current UFV students and employees.

Off Campus Access (Further Information)

Research Databases Best Bets

Defining Gender, 1450-1910
This database contains a wide range of primary sources related to gender, 1450-1910, arranged into 5 themes: conduct and politeness; domesticity and the family; consumption and leisure; education and sensibility; and the body.
Sage Knowledge
Hundreds of Sage handbooks and encyclopedias, providing detailed, authoritative background information in the social sciences.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Social Sciences Abstracts (EBSCOHost)
Abstracts,indexing and full text articles from key publications in the Social Sciences.
Coverage: 1984 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Abstracts and indexes to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Research Databases Also Try

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost)
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Academic search complete assists researchers in the general exploration of all academic fields. Recent publications in journals, magazines and newspapers will help researchers better understand broad topic areas. Peer-reviewed academic articles help users with research papers, group assignments and keyword and subject area development.
JSTOR
An archive of full text scholarly journals and books across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Browse images to find ArtSTOR collections. 3 to 5 year embargo is common.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Wiley Online Library
Over 1500 full text scholarly journals, encompassing life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Also includes dictionaries, handbooks and companions in the social sciences and humanities.
Coverage: 1997 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Abstracts and indexes to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Permitted Uses for this Database

2SLGBTQAI+

UFV Journals

Types of Journals

Finding Journal Articles

Research Databases Best Bets

Research Databases Also Try

EBSCO Databases

Search for Articles in ProQuest Databases