When looking for case studies, try using keywords that describe your topic, adding “case studies” to your search. For example, if your topic involves the economics of developing vaccines, try “Medical tourism case studies.” (Caveat: most databases do not distinguish between case studies as a research method and teaching cases, so you'll have to do some of that legwork yourself.)
Once you have a list of results from your initial search, you can use the “Refine Results” tools on the left pane to further narrow your search by date, subject or geography.
You can also try finding books on business case studies using your topic keywords, plus “case studies,” as in “Wine tourism case studies.”
Once you find a title that relates to the topic, click on the Catalog link, and under subject term, click on “Wine tourism--Case studies” for other similar titles.
The following is a small sample of subject headings for different types of business case studies:
These journals are good sources for teaching cases.
These databases as good sources for finding teaching cases. Head over to the Business Databases tab for tips on searching for cases in each of these databases.
All disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. It is particularly useful for finding company profiles from MarketLine/Medtrack, as well as industry profiles, country reports, and market research reports.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Our library has access to a limited number of Harvard Business School Cases. These will be indicated by a PDF Full Text link. Others can be purchased directly from Harvard Business Review website, and in most cases are under USD $10.
Harvard Business School Cases are indexed in Business Source Complete. Once you find a case, Business Source Complete will take you to the Harvard Business Review website; to find a specific case, do a keyword search as illustrated below:
Harvard Business Review also publishes business cases, and theirs are made available in Business Source Complete. To find HBR cases, enter your keyword search term as seen below:
