Skip to main content
UFV A - Z | myUFV | Academic Calendar | IT Help Desk | Library | MyClass | Directory

/library

Copyright: UFV Online (Blackboard)

UFV Online

Use of UFV Online must comply with Canadian copyright laws and the terms of UFV’s negotiated licenses and contractual obligations. Uploading and posting content from copyrighted works requires authorization under the Copyright Act (Fair Dealing or other applicable exceptions) or by authorization from the copyright holder (licenses or direct permission). Faculty need to refer to the UFV Online copyright guidelines and the Copyright Guide  to ensure that their use of materials within UFV Online adhere to the authorization of the Copyright Act and to the terms of UFV licenses and contracts. Students should refer to the Copyright for Students section of the Copyright Guide .

 

Instructor Copyright Guidelines

Faculty and/or their staff who post content on UFV Online must ensure that copies of copyright-protected works are posted in accordance with the Fair Dealing Policy or that the posting of the copies does not infringe copyright for other reasons.

You must be able to identify the reason that you are entitled to post each work or extract. Reasons include:

  1. You are the copyright holder
  2. Permission has been obtained from the copyright holder - Keep records of all permissions obtained.
  3. UFV license or agreement to use the content in an learning management system.
  4. Fair Dealing or other exemption under the Copyright Act
  5. Public Domain content - Note that availability on the Internet does not necessarily mean that content is in the public domain.
  • For certain content posted to UFV Online (e.g. classroom presentations containing extracts from a number of works) multiple reasons may apply.

Faculty/staff who post content prepared by a student on UFV Online should confirm that this content does not include copies of copyright-protected works that infringe copyright.

Communicating Lessons in UFV Online

Instructors can communicate their lessons, such as a classroom session or a document prepared as a lesson, to post in UFV Online.  Under Copyright Law, the content must be provided in the form of a lesson, must be password-protected and only available to students in the course, and must be destroyed by the University and the students within 30 days after the final course evaluations.


An instructor does not need to destroy their lesson posted in UFV Online within 30 days after the final course evaluations IF the material used in the lesson follows the Fair Dealing Requirements and Copying Guidelines.  If the material used in the lesson goes beyond these rules and guidelines, then we must destroy the lesson after the course. Please notify Gordon Jang if your UFV Online lesson must be destroyed.
 

Guidance for Students

Students are also obligated to respect the UFV's Copyright Compliance Policy and the terms of UFV licenses when using UFV Online, and they should ensure that they do not post works that infringe copyright.

For more information, students should also consult the Copyright for Students section of this guide.

 

UFV Online Course Page: The Basics

You can use UFV Online (BBLearn) as your repository for electronic readings or multimedia content that you want to share with your students.  

How do I create a UFV Online course page?

 

  1. Submit the Request a Blackboard Learn Course Shell form online (for face-to-face classes)
  2. Contact Educational Technology Services (ETS) with help creating your page

What can I include in my UFV Online course page?

 

In a password-protected environment such as UFV Online, you can:

  • Link to materials on the public internet (articles, videos, etc.)
  • Link to online articles or e-books licensed by the Library
  • Upload documents for which you own the copyright (make sure you didn't assign your copy rights to a publisher)
  • Upload third-party materials (content for which you don't own the copyright); however you must follow the Fair Dealing Requirements and Copying Guidelines*

* Always remember to check the terms of the license for materials in the Library's electronic resources collection

It is highly recommended that you link to content if possible.  If you're not sure if something is already available electronically, contact the Library.

Internet Content

For any Internet content (text, videos, audio, graphics, or anything else found online), upload or embed content only if the following conditions are met:

  • There is no clearly visible copyright notice posted that specifically prohibits copying for educational use.  Standard copyright notices (i.e. the copyright symbol  ©) on webpages do not restrict your ability to use content under this exception.
  • The content is legitimately posted (you have no reason to believe that it is online without the consent of the copyright owner).
  • There is no password protection or other restricted access to the content.
  • You cite the source (URL and the author/creator, if available).

To avoid copyright infringement, the best practice is to link to the content rather than copying.  If in doubt, link it out.

If you are required to seek permission to use the content, please keep a copy of any permissions you receive.

Library Licensed Content

Library Licenses

Whether you want to make class handouts, compile readings in a coursepack, or upload an electronic file to Blackboard, if the content you are using has been provided by a library database, then you will have to ensure that the database license allows copying for a particular use. There are numerous library databases and numerous licenses, but is generally simple to check specific terms of use.

How to Find the License Terms

Step 1. Look up the journal publication:

Find Journal

Step 2. Determine the database provider by the publication year of the article. Some journal articles are available in more than one database:

Find Journal Database

Step 3. Look up the database:

Find Database

Step 4. Consult the Permitted Uses:

Find Database Terms

The same content may have different license conditions depending on the database provider, so make sure to use the source with license terms that cover your intended use. Except in rare cases, it is always permissible to link to the content even if other copying purposes are not allowed. See Creating Persistent Links to Articles for DIY instructions.

Scanning Articles, Chapters, Images, or Other Content

The fair dealing exceptions of the Copyright Act allow you to scan “short excerpts” of content, which you can then place in an LMS system like UFV Online.  A “short excerpt” includes: up to 10% of a work, 1 chapter from a book, 1 article from a periodical, 1 artistic work, 1 poem, or 1 entry from a reference work like an encyclopedia.  If 1 chapter of a book is more than 10% of the book, the 1 chapter may be copied. You must cite your source.

See the Fair Dealing Requirements for more information.

Video and Audio Content

As with text, you can copy “short excerpts” of video and audio content under the fair dealing exceptions of the Copyright Act.  A “short excerpt” is defined as up to 10% of a video or audio recording.  The recording must be a legally obtained copy and you must cite your source.  To stream an entire video, you will need to purchase a streaming license.  For assistance, contact the Copyright Librarian.

It is illegal to break a technical protection measure (TPM or "digital lock").  However it is legal to record a short excerpt of a legally obtained video using a handheld device or screen capture software, and to upload this short excerpt into your course.  For assistance, contact Educational Technology Services.

Using or Making Your Own Content

You can (obviously) upload documents for which you own the full copyright. Examples include course reading lists, syllabi, and assignment outlines. For works that you have published, you need to be certain you did not assign your copyright to a publisher.

Contact the Copyright Librarian if you are unclear about the copyright status of a published work.

© University of the Fraser Valley,
33844 King Road, Abbotsford, B.C., Canada V2S 7M8