Access to a collection of digitized e-books and a database of full text web resources, based largely on resources held at the University of Oregon Libraries,
A grandson’s photo album. Old postcards. English porcelain. A granite headstone. These are just a few of the material objects that help reconstruct the histories of colonial people who lived during Japan’s empire. These objects, along with oral histories and visual imagery, reveal aspects of lives that reliance on the colonial archive alone cannot.
The East Asian Library collection on the Internet Archive began in 2005, with 6 significant Chinese titles published in or before 1923 that were digitized at the University of Toronto and shared through the Internet Archive. Since then, the East Asian Library has made over 5,000 titles published in Chinese, Korean, and Japanese from the 1100s to the 1900s freely available online via the Internet Archive.
During the Korean War, North Dakota native Albert G. Brauer served as Chief of the Projects Branch, Psychological Warfare Division, G3 section. He was responsible for overseeing the creation of propaganda pamphlets that were airdropped over North Korea. This collection contain propaganda leaflets produced by the United States Army a as well as leaflets produced by the communist forces in Korea.
Compiled by Kenneth R. Robinson, the subjects include not only political, diplomatic, and economic history, but also historical linguistics, art history, literature, philosophy and religion, and overseas Koreans, for example. Chronologically, coverage concludes in the 1960s.
Materials collected here are considered useful for understanding Japan's past relationship with various neighboring Asian countries and regions, which the Japanese Government's various institutions are making available to the public from among their collections, spanning from the beginning of the Meiji era to the end of the Pacific War.
This initiative has begun by focusing on Japan’s modern diaspora, with particular attention to both Japanese Americans and other overseas Japanese communities, especially during the rise and fall of the Empire of Japan.
Devoted to interdisciplinary and comprehensive research on Japanese culture from an international perspective, it is an inter-university research institute supported by government funds.
JACAR has built and operates an online database for releasing Asian historical records, that are historical documents of Japan concerning to the modern Japanese relations with other countries, particularly those in Asia. The documents of the archive are provided by the National Archives of Japan, the Diplomatic Archives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan, and the National Institute for Defense Studies of the Ministry of Defense of Japan.
Bibliotheca Sinica 2.0 explores Sino-Western encounters by ways of texts and images published before 1939 and is intended as an extension of the bibliography Western Books on China in Libraries in Vienna/Austria, 1477-1939.
A resource platform on the history of Shanghai from the mid-nineteenth century to nowadays. It incorporates various sets of documents: essays, original documents, photographs, maps, quantitative data, etc.
