Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Founded by a group of filmmakers who wanted to share their creative work, hoping to build a "vibrant community of intelligent and creative people". Most content is free.
An open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by distinguished scholars and scientists from various academic disciplines at prominent events like conferences and workshops.
If you spend some time separating the wheat from the chaff, there is a lot of good educational content on Youtube.
Famous for its extensive +3000 video lectures library, Khan also offers tutorials, assessment tools, and interactive tests alongside its lecture presentations.
"Ideas worth spreading." TED Talks are openly licensed with Creative Commons: CC BY-NC-ND
Music & Sounds
Social sound platform where anyone can create, record, and share sounds and music sounds and share them - publicly or privately.
Free Music Archive
An interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads curated by non-profit arts organizations - radio stations, festivals, venues, museums and libraries - with an established record of presenting high-quality audio.
Searchable archives of "liberally licensed" sound materials. This resource is a relative of ccMixter
, a community music site featuring remixed, Creative Commons licensed content.
Self-promoted as "the world’s biggest free music library", this site is a gigantic reservoir of Creative Commons licensed music content.
Free Music Archive
Free Music Archive is powered by Tribe of Noise. Together we care about free access to original music and growing fair trade opportunities & our social impact in favor of talented musicians worldwide: Decent Work and Economic Growth, Reduced Inequalities, No Poverty and Gender Equality.[From Website]
The Mutopia Project
Offers classical sheet music that may be freely downloaded, printed, copied, distributed, modified, performed and recorded. Availability is based on editions in the public domain.
International Music Score Library Project
The IMSLP is a wiki-based virtual library of public domain music scores.
A media file repository of public domain and freely-licensed educational media content, including images, sound, and video clips - with contributions in many different languages. Browse by categories.
Creative Commons Search
Convenient access to search services provided by other independent organizations, with preset CC license search parameters - but read the fine print.
The World Digital Library
Freely available significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world in multilingual formats.
Free academic web site delivering videos, animations, simulations, and other multi-media content for all levels of education. Content providers include National Repository of Online Courses, Khan Academy, PhET, and NOAA.
Open University on iTunes
Part of Apple's iTunes store, iTunes U is a vast learning resource offering free educational content that users can download straight to computers and mobile devices. Audio lectures, videos, eBooks, and more, with content available from major universities.
Open Professionals Education Network (OPEN)
OERs are distributed across the Internet and there is no one definitive source for finding them. OPEN provides a gateway site to a range of search engine for various types of OER materials.
For detailed tips and information on finding images, see the following UFV Library guide:
One of the largest digital photo management and sharing application website. Use the advanced search to find materials with specific Creative Commons licenses in order to reuse freely.
Online open access geosciences image repository of the European Geosciences Union provides images that can be used by scientists for their presentations or publications under Creative Commons licensing.
Find and share images free of copyrights. All pictures are published under Creative Commons public domain deed CC0. Note that copyrighted images listed as "sponsored images" appear at the top of search results.
Public domain dedicated images that are free to use without attribution requirements.
Offers high resolution images of its collection pieces with CC0 licensing.
Unsplash images can be used for free for commercial and noncommercial purposes without permission. Credit is also not required, though it is appreciated if possible.