LibGuides UFV: Residential Schools: Journals

Finding Journal Articles

Journal articles can be useful sources of information for almost any subject area. They contain current information or research, and are usually written on specific aspects of a topic.

Use research databases to search for articles on a specific topic. Databases can be accessed from off campus by current UFV students and employees.

Tips for searching this topic:

Put phrase in quotation marks - "residential schools"
Get variant endings using the truncation symbol - "residential school*" will retrieve residential school, residential schools, or residential schooling
Add a geographic limiter, such as Canada -
"residential school*" and Canada

Off Campus Access (Further Information)

Search ProQuest Databases

Search JSTOR

UFV Journals

UFV has access to more than 68,000 journal, magazine, and newspaper titles online, and about 500 current titles in print.

UFV Journals List
List of all print and electronic journals available at UFV; search for a specific journal title or browse by subject.

Journals beyond UFV

You can request articles from journals not held by UFV through interlibrary loan. Request forms can be accessed from the library's web site, or through the Full Text Finder link in the library's research databases. Articles generally arrive within 2-5 business days; books may take a little longer.

Interlibrary Loans
More information on requesting materials from other libraries.
Full Text Finder

Start Here

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

Search our Discovery Service for books, journals, reports and much more from a multitude of sources.

Be sure to put phrases in quotations marks, such as "residential schools".

Research Databases: Best Bets

America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Spanning the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present, and contains selective indexing for a substantial number of journals.
Coverage: 1954 to present.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Major Dailies provides access to full text of over 21 Canadian newspapers, including the Vancouver Sun and Globe & Mail. 2-day embargo on selected titles.
Permitted Uses for this Database
CPI-Q (Canadian Periodicals) This link opens in a new window
Canadian-focused journals, magazines, newspapers (including local B.C. newspapers), and reference sources.
Coverage: 1980 to present.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Research Databases: Also Try...

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Academic search complete assists researchers in the general exploration of all academic fields. Recent publications in journals, magazines and newspapers will help researchers better understand broad topic areas. Peer-reviewed academic articles help users with research papers, group assignments and keyword and subject area development.
Publications Database: The First Nations Child & Family Caring Society of Canada This link opens in a new window
A database of government documents, journal articles, and more about Aboriginal children and their families in Canada and other relevant topics from around the world.
Permitted Uses for this Database
I-Portal (Indigenous Studies Portal) This link opens in a new window
The I-Portal (Indigenous Studies Portal) has full text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on Indigenous peoples of Canada. Includes geographic locations of various communities and links to research content of that specific community.
Permitted Uses for this Database
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of full text scholarly journals and books across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Browse images to find ArtSTOR collections. 3 to 5 year embargo is common.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Articles in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Social Sciences Abstracts (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts,indexing and full text articles from key publications in the Social Sciences.
Coverage: 1984 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and related social sciences disciplines.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Types of Journals

Not all journals are created equal, and not all will be appropriate for every research need. These are the most common types of journals you are likely to encounter in your research, presented in order from most to least academic or scholarly:

Scholarly Journals: reports of original research, theoretical, experimental or applied; many are refereed/peer-reviewed
Trade/Professional Journals: current trends, news & events in a particular field; some are peer-reviewed
Journals of Commentary or Opinion: commentary on political & social issues; often source of specific political viewpoint, e.g., conservative, liberal, or specific interest group
Newspapers: current information, news stories; local & regional focus
Popular Magazines: current events & news; primary source for popular culture

Types of Periodicals