LibGuides UFV: Physical Geography: Links

Evaluating Sources

Although librarians have carefully compiled these sources, there is no substitute for your own evaluation. Use the following guides to help you.

CARS Evaluation Checklist
CARS = Credibility, Accuracy, Reasonableness, and Support
The CRAAP Test
CRAAP = Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose
Critical Evaluation of Information Sources
Questions to ask, and where to find the answers when evaluating sources

Canadian Association of Geographers
Royal Canadian Geographical Society
Dedicated to imparting a broader knowledge and deeper appreciation of Canada — its people and places, its natural and cultural heritage and its environmental, social and economic challenges — the RCGS is one of Canada’s largest non-profit educational organizations
Geoscience BC
An industry-led, not-for-profit, applied geoscience organisation
Geological Association of Canada
Canadian Cartographic Association
Canadian Geotechnical Society

Earthquakes Canada
Current and historical maps of earthquakes in Canada. Seismograms are also available.
Topo 101 - Topographic Maps, The Basics
Get the basics on the NTS system from Natural Resources Canada.
Environment Canada
Today's weather, plus 5-day forecasts, marine weather, tides, winter driving conditions and weather archives.
Canadian Climate Normals 1961-2010
Temperature, precipitation, sunshine, wind, etc. for Canadian cities.
Canadian Geodetic Vertical Datum of 2013
The Canadian Geodetic Vertical Datum of 2013 (CGVD2013), which is now the new reference standard for heights across Canada. This new height reference system is replacing the Canadian Geodetic Vertical Datum of 1928 (CGVD28), which was adopted officially by an Order in Council in 1935.
Canadian Landscapes Photo Collection
Photos were taken by scientists of the Geological Survey of Canada during the last 30 years. Search by province or territory, or, physiographic region.
National Pollutants Release Inventory
Communities portal. Find out more about pollutant releases, disposal, recycling and pollution in your community by companies and organizations in Canada.

Natural Resources Canada
Looking for Canadian place names? Maps? Natural hazards? Water issues? Earthquake zones? and more? Check this site out.
GeoGratis
Search, Discover and Download Free Maps, Data and Publications from Natural Resources Canada.
NRCan Open S&T Repository (OSTR) (formerly known as GEOSCAN)
Search for scientific publications of the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) of Natural Resources Canada. The database includes publications of the Geological Survey of Canada and the Canada Centre for Remote Sensing as well as external publications authored by ESS scientists and specialists.
GeoConnections
Canadian government portal providing access to the Altas of Canada, raster data, vector data, GeoGratis and more.
Cultural Landscape: World Heritage
From UNESCO. Links to world historical sites. The Agave landscape in Mexico, Ayres Rock in Australia, rice terraces in the Phillipines and more.
National Historic Sites of Canada: Parks Canada

Geographic Data & Services
Access to maps of water boundaries, land use plans, mining and petroleum and more.
B.C. Geological Survey
This website provides an index and links to full text BCGS publications. For best results, use their built in Google Search of their website.
BC Geographical Names
MetroVancouver
At the bottom of the page there is an interactive map that shows population density, commute to work, land use and population growth. Along with more information and regional indicators for the 21 member municipalities of MetroVancouver
Georgia Basin Action Plan (Archived)
Scientific and technical reports on all aspects of the area's environment.
Fraser Basin Council
Access to monitoring reports and other publications about the Fraser River.
Below BC
Below BC connects a range of audiences with all aspects of earth science with creative, engaging ,and and compelling events and resources, online and in person.
BC Soil Informaton Finder Tool
provides access to soil survey data, reports and maps.

The Center for International Earth Science Information Network
CIESIN gateway to statistical data servers on human interactions in global environmental change. Also includes mapping and demographic data.
Earth Science World
From the American Geological Institute. Includes access to almost 4,000 high quality geoscience images as well as links to global climate data from weather stations around the world.
EarthData
From NASA. Descriptions of earth science data sets worldwide. Includes weather, oceans, land surface, and solar information.
National Cooperative Geologic Mapping Program
From the U.S. Geological Survey. Maps about geology, hazards, earth resources, geophysics, geochemistry, geochronology, paleontology, and marine geology.
U.S. Geological Survey Publications warehouse
you can search and get full access to USGS publications.
UBC Map Library
Links to map collections.
Weather Underground
International weather information arranged by country, state, province and weather station. Includes current conditions, forecasts, warnings, and maps. Links to 300 weather web sites.