LibGuides UFV: Library & Information Technology: Links

Evaluating Sources

Although librarians have carefully compiled these sources, there is no substitute for your own evaluation. Use the following guides to help you.

CARS Evaluation Checklist
CARS = Credibility, Accuracy, Reasonableness, and Support
The CRAAP Test
CRAAP = Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose
Critical Evaluation of Information Sources
Questions to ask, and where to find the answers when evaluating sources

Aaron Shepherd's Storytelling Page
Children's author Aaron Shepard offers his resources for storytellers
CCBC: Cooperative Children's Book Center
Children's Literature Web Guide
Internet resources related to books for Children and Young Adults
Saskatoon Public Library: Recommended Lists>Kids
Reading lists
Red Cedar Book Awards
British Columbia's Young Readers Choice Awards; children between grades 4 and 7 from across the province are invited to read books from the nominated lists of non-fiction and fiction titles and vote for their favourite titles
Teens Help/Homepage
Book recommendations included

Unshelved
Daily comic strip featuring the antics of the staff and patrons of Mallville Public Library; includes a weekly book talk in comic strip form

Library and Archives Canada
"An innovative knowledge institution that combines the collections, services and staff expertise of the former National Library of Canada and National Archives of Canada"
Library of Congress
Web Accessible National and Major Libraries of the World

Directory of Special Collections of Research Value in Canadian Libraries
Index by subject, institution and collection name to special collections in Canadian libraries (primarily post-secondary)
Library Support Staff Resource Center
Information for and about library support staff and paraprofessionals; developed by the American Library Association.

Electronic Collections Development
Links to policy documents regarding the development of collections in an environment increasingly marked by the challenge of electronic resources
Internet Access Policies of Canadian Libraries in the Public Sector
Provides links to Internet access policies that have been adopted by Canadian librarians in the public, school, and post-secondary library sectors
Sample Library Policy Statements
From the State Library of Ohio, links to sample policies currently in use in Ohio public libraries; policies for: circulation, cooperation with other libraries, distribution of freer materials, emergencies in the library, exhibits and displays, public relations, behavior, unattended children
School Libraries: Standards, Policies, & Procedures
Prepared by California Department of Education

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Information on periodicals (magazines, journals, etc.) published throughout the world, including price, frequency of publication, publisher name, and subject coverage.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Booklist
Reviews of adult and children's books, reference books, electronic reference, and other audio-visual materials
Canadian Review of Materials
Articles and reviews of materials for young people
Governor General's Literary Awards
Internet Scout Project
Weekly announcements of quality internet sites of value to librarians and educators; searchable archive
Literary Prizes and Awards
Adult and children's literature
Pulitzer Prizes