LibGuides UFV: Indigenous Studies: Journals

Search UFV's databases and library catalogue all at once

Discover articles, books, videos, images, statistics, and more from the Library's print and online collections

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

When you have done your search, don’t forget to use the limiters. The main ones are:

Available in Library Collection..............	you will be able to read the articles/books online or find them in the library
Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journals .....	if you need journal articles only
Print Books........................................	limits mainly to our physical book, collection
Subject ...................................................	a listing of alternative keywords that you can use to improve your search
Geography...............................................	want to limit to Canada? use this
Limit by Database ................................	gives you a list of the databases that have been searched (from here you can limit to only one database)

There are a small number of databases which are not pre-indexed in the EBSCO's central index, including Canadian Business and Current Affairs, Canadian Newsstand, and CPI-Q.

The database names are displayed on the right side of the screen. You may click on the database to view the additional search results.

Remember to use this toolbar to easily:

Email yourself the article

Cite your article (provides the citation in many different styles)

Permalink links to the article whether you are on or off campus. Use this link to email to your professor, or classmates.

By default, Find It searches all terms you have entered, without the need to use AND. For example: children television violence will find items that contain all 3 terms.
By default, Find It searches through the full text of documents (if available). This may cause a large number of results, and not all are relevant to your subject. Results are returned in a relevancy ranked order. You can change the ranking to date if you wish.
To improve the relevancy of your search results, enclose phrases in "quotation marks". For example: "British Columbia" or "global warming".
Include the apostrophe. For example, use "handmaid's tale" rather than "handmaids tale"
To find variant endings for a word, use the * asterisk (truncation symbol.) For example: delinquen* finds delinquent, delinquents, delinquency
To find books, e-books. videos or other items in the UFV library, refine your search by selecting "Catalogue only". You can also limit to "Print books" if you want something to hold!
To find scholarly journal articles, refine your search by selecting "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed)"
You can refine a search by limiting to Language. However, be aware that many English language articles have not been tagged as English, so will be missing from your search results.
Many items have direct links to retrieve the full text. For those that don't, use "Full Text Finder" to determine if UFV has the item in print or online.
To add in more Canadian content, explore the "Continue Search" on the right side of the screen.

System Requirements

In order to effectively use all EBSCOhost features, the minimum browser requirements are Internet Explorer 7.0, Firefox 8.0, Google Chrome 16, and Safari 5.1 (for Macintosh). You must also have Adobe ® Reader® installed to view the PDF Full Text files. If you are using Visual Search, you must also install Adobe ® Flash Player 8.0 or higher.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) - User Guide

Custom made UFV tutorials:

For more Library How To Videos

Tutorials from the service provider:

For More EDS tutorials

UFV Journals

UFV has access to more than 60,000 journal, magazine, and newspaper titles online, and about 500 current titles in print.

UFV Journals List
List of all print and electronic journals available at UFV; search for a specific journal title or browse by subject.

Journals beyond UFV

You can request articles from journals not held by UFV through interlibrary loan. Request forms can be accessed from the library's web site, or through the Full Text Finder link in the library's research databases. Articles generally arrive within 2-5 business days; books may take a little longer.

Interlibrary Loans
More information on requesting materials from other libraries.
Full Text Finder

Types of Journals

Not all journals are created equal, and not all will be appropriate for every research need. These are the most common types of journals you are likely to encounter in your research, presented in order from most to least academic or scholarly:

Scholarly Journals: reports of original research, theoretical, experimental or applied; many are refereed/peer-reviewed
Trade/Professional Journals: current trends, news & events in a particular field; some are peer-reviewed
Journals of Commentary or Opinion: commentary on political & social issues; often source of specific political viewpoint, e.g., conservative, liberal, or specific interest group
Newspapers: current information, news stories; local & regional focus
Popular Magazines: current events & news; primary source for popular culture

Types of Periodicals

Research Databases: Best Bets

America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Spanning the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present, and contains selective indexing for a substantial number of journals.
Coverage: 1954 to present.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Information on all aspects of cultural and social life and ethnic groups of the world.
Permitted Uses for this Database
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of full text scholarly journals and books across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Browse images to find ArtSTOR collections. 3 to 5 year embargo is common.
Permitted Uses for this Database
I-Portal (Indigenous Studies Portal) This link opens in a new window
The I-Portal (Indigenous Studies Portal) has full text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on Indigenous peoples of Canada. Includes geographic locations of various communities and links to research content of that specific community.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Weaving Knowledge Systems Resource Materials This link opens in a new window
A collection giving voice to the Indigenous Peoples of Turtle Island. Contains materials on Canada's Dark History, Decolonization and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Research Databases: Also Try...

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Academic search complete assists researchers in the general exploration of all academic fields. Recent publications in journals, magazines and newspapers will help researchers better understand broad topic areas. Peer-reviewed academic articles help users with research papers, group assignments and keyword and subject area development.
Anthropological Index Online This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic citations for the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at the The British Museum, which includes international coverage in all branches of anthropology.
Permitted Uses for this Database
BC Stats This link opens in a new window
BC Stats is the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia with a BC focus on demographics and socio-economic conditions.
Permitted Uses for this Database
British Colonist, 1858-1980 This link opens in a new window
All the issues of the British Colonist (also called The Daily British Colonist, the Daily Colonist, and other variants) from 1858 to 1980; every page is searchable.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents covering Colonial history, politics, culture and society, arranged into 5 themes: cultural contact, 1492-1969; literature and empire (poetry, prose, drama); the visible empire (photographs, illustrations); religion and empire; and race, class, imperialism and colonialism, c1607-2007.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Haida Gwaii Emuseum: Image Collections This link opens in a new window
Image collection of Haida Gwaii communities, totems, boats, chieftainships and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
The history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Find the collection by clicking on Resources (top right corner). Varied collection of government documents, images, primary sources and more about Indigenous People in North America. From the seventeenth through the twenty-first century.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Native Health Database This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents relating to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
Permitted Uses for this Database
The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples. Some citations include a link to view the PDF file. If no PDF file is available, users may add up to 5 items to their "cart." After a free registration process, you may request copies of these items.
Points to the Past This link opens in a new window
Nearly 200 million pages of searchable primary source materials, including maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems. It is freely available to residents living in British Columbia. Contains 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Articles in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE; coverage includes criminology, health sciences, business, history, sociology, and psychology. U.S. focus.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new window
Coverage of trans-Atlantic slavery and abolition topics; content includes original manuscripts, other rare printed materials and contextual essays. The focus is on the African Coast, the Middle Passage, slavery and agriculture, the abolition movement, the Underground Railway and slavery today.
Coverage: 1490 to 2007.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Social Sciences Abstracts (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts,indexing and full text articles from key publications in the Social Sciences.
Coverage: 1984 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Statistics Canada This link opens in a new window
Statistics relating to Canada's population, resources, economy, society and culture.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Statistics Canada Publications Catalogue This link opens in a new window
Statistics Canada Publications Catalogue provides searchable access to statistical publications on topics such as business, manufacturing, farming, health, food consumption, education, crime & justice, and much more.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Library Links

Library Hours

refabby (at) ufv (dot) ca

Library Locations
Library Maps: Abbotsford, Chilliwack, Mission

Assignment Planner
Citing Sources
WriteAway

My Library Account
See what books you have out, renew them or place holds.
Library How-to's/FAQs
Libanswers provides you with access to various tutorials on using the library ... from the library catalogue to "Full Text Finder" and frequently asked questions.
Guide for Students at a Distance
Don't come to campus? These services are for you.

Academic Success Centre
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Writing tips, Citation Style Guides and more.
APA Style Reference Examples
Over 100 different examples of in-text and reference citations from the American Psychological Association.

The Concise APA Handbook
Call Number: Ebook
MLA Handbook
Call Number: LB 2369 G53 2016
Print 8th edition

If you think you need to talk to a librarian, there are a variety of ways to get in contact.

You can just come to the service desk in any of our locations and ask for help.
You can call or email us
But if you think you need some extended time with us (face to face or via zoom), feel free to book an appointment.

Just click on the link below, chose your location and you can choose a specific librarian or select "no preference."

LibCal Appointments Homepage