Skip to main content
UFV A - Z | myUFV | Academic Calendar | IT Help Desk | Library | MyClass | Directory

/library

Copyright: Print Services

Print Services Requests

In order for a Printing/Photocopy job request to be completed by Print Services, you MUST submit a Statement of Copyright Compliance:

If your job request involves the duplication of multiple copyrighted works, use as many Additional References forms as necessary to list each one of these works.

More Information

For more information, please see the Copying Guidelines and Fair Dealing Requirements sections of this guide.

Print Services at UFV

Print Services must verify that all print jobs requested at the University of the Fraser Valley comply with Canadian copyright laws and the terms of UFV’s negotiated licenses and contractual obligations. You are required to provide the appropriate documentation for their records, which consists of completing the forms found on the Print Services website. These forms are also available in the Print Services Forms box on this page.

See the Print Services Division for more information about the printing services offered at the Abbotsford and Chilliwack campuses.

What Do The Checkboxes Mean?

Fair Dealing:

The fair dealing exceptions of the Copyright Act allow you to copy “short excerpts” of content for educational purposes. A “short excerpt” includes: up to 10% of a work, 1 chapter from a book, 1 article from a periodical, 1 artistic work, 1 poem, or 1 entry from a reference work like an encyclopedia.  If 1 chapter of a book is more than 10% of the book, the 1 chapter may be copied. You must cite your source.

See the Fair Dealing Requirements for more information.

Library Licenses

Whether you want to make class handouts, compile readings in a coursepack, or upload an electronic file to Blackboard, if the content you are using has been provided by a library database, then you will have to ensure that the database license allows copying for a particular use. There are numerous library databases and numerous licenses, but is generally simple to check specific terms of use.

How to Find the License Terms

Step 1. Look up the journal publication:

Find Journal

Step 2. Determine the database provider by the publication year of the article. Some journal articles are available in more than one database:

Find Journal Database

Step 3. Look up the database:

Find Database

Step 4. Consult the Permitted Uses:

Find Database Terms

The same content may have different license conditions depending on the database provider, so make sure to use the source with license terms that cover your intended use. Except in rare cases, it is always permissible to link to the content even if other copying purposes are not allowed. See Creating Persistent Links to Articles for DIY instructions.

Work Available on the Internet:

You may copy any Internet content (text, videos, audio, graphics, or anything else found online) only if the following conditions are met:

  • There is no clearly visible copyright notice posted that specifically prohibits copying for educational use.  Standard copyright notices (i.e. the copyright symbol  ©) on webpages do not restrict your ability to use content under this exception.
  • The content is legitimately posted (you have no reason to believe that it is online without the consent of the copyright owner).
  • There is no password protection or other restricted access to the content.
  • You cite the source (URL and the author/creator, if available).

To avoid copyright infringement, the best practice is to link to the content rather than copying.  If in doubt, link it out.

Instructor or UFV owns the copyright:

This is content you or UFV has produced. Examples include course syllabi, reading lists, and assignment outlines. For content that you have published, you need to be certain you did not assign your copyright to a publisher. Contact the Copyright Librarian if you are unclear about the copyright status of a published work.

With the Permission of the copyright holder(s):

You have obtained written permission to duplicate the content.  You MUST attach a copy of this permission for Print Services' records, and please retain a copy for your own records. See Permissions for more information on obtaining permission to use copyrighted content.

© University of the Fraser Valley,
33844 King Road, Abbotsford, B.C., Canada V2S 7M8