LibGuides UFV: Military History: Introduction

War in Pictures

National Film Board of Canada. Photothèque / Library and Archives Canada / e000761165.

Rosina Vanier, 16-year-old female worker employed in the Pictou shipyard.

Library and Archives Canada, Acc. No. 1983-28-1017

Fight for Her Come with the Irish Canadian Rangers Overseas Battalion : recruitment campaign.

Library and Archives Canada, Acc. No. 1983-28-632

Doing My Bit Four Years - Do Yours : victory loan drive.

Lieut. Michael M. Dean / Canada. Dept. of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA-168908

Gunners of "B" Troop, 5th Battery, 5th Field Regiment, Royal Canadian Artillery, firing a 25-pounder (11.4 kg) gun.

British history at a glance

British History Timeline
Explore all of British history, from the Neolithic to the present day, with this easy-to-use interactive timeline.
Historic Figures
Selected biographies of historic figures featured on bbc.co.uk/history.
On this day in history
Find out what happened on this day in history.

European history at a glance

European Cultural Heritage Online (ECHO)
Emphasis on the history of science in Europe.
Europeana

Archive of Americana

From Readex.com, reports of newly available online primary documents about American History

Introduction

This guide has been developed as a general introduction to resources in the field of Military History. Students taking the following courses will find this guide useful: History 122, 212, 313, 315, 316, 318, 320, 321, 335, 340, 374, 418, 419, 420, 426. It is not a comprehensive listing of sources, but rather a starting point from which you can begin your research according to your information needs.

Top Resources for Military history

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of full text scholarly journals and books across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. 3 to 5 year embargo is common.
Permitted Uses for this Database
UFV Library Catalogue This link opens in a new window
Find books, videos and more in the UFV library.
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more.
Points to the Past This link opens in a new window
Points to the Past is a collection of databases that provide access to nearly 200 million pages of primary source content such as maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems, and more. The content collections include: British Newspapers 1600-1900, Indigenous Peoples: North America, Sunday Times Digital Archive, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Slavery and Anti-slavery: A Transnational Archive, State Papers Online, Declassified Documents Reference System, Making of the Modern World, British Literary Manuscripts Online, Gale NewsVault, and more.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985 This link opens in a new window
This digitized version of The Times (of London) includes every page of the newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertisements, birth and death announcements, photos and illustrations. Content covers 1785-1985.

Library Quick Links

My Library Account
See what books you have out, renew them or place holds.
Library How-to's/FAQs
Libanswers provides you with access to various tutorials on using the library ... from the library catalogue to "Full Text Finder" and frequently asked questions.
Guide for Students at a Distance
Don't come to campus? These services are for you.
Assignment Planner
Tips and strategies for completing your research project on time.

Gassed

by John Singer Sargent 1919 (this work is in the public domain)

Need help? Ask us!

Library Hours

refabby (at) ufv (dot) ca

Meet with a Librarian

Library Locations
Library Maps: Abbotsford, Chilliwack

Assignment Planner
Citing Sources
WriteAway

Contact Me

Selena Karli

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: History, Language Studies