LibGuides UFV: Adam Matthew Digital Collection: Home

Adam Matthew Digital Collection

This collection of databases includes primary source material - manuscripts, rare documents, maps, photographs, drawings, paintings, letters, diaries, notebooks, fashion books, pamphlets, ballads, police records, and more - as well as secondary material such as interactive maps, contextual essays, and translations. Coverage includes China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980; Defining Gender, 1450 1910; Eighteenth Century Journals I & II; Empire Online; Mass Observation Online; Medieval Travel Writing; Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007.

China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 This link opens in a new window
Unique manuscript material relating to the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China, 1793-1980.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 This link opens in a new window
This database contains a wide range of primary sources related to gender, 1450-1910, arranged into 5 themes: conduct and politeness; domesticity and the family; consumption and leisure; education and sensibility; and the body.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Eighteenth Century Journals I & II This link opens in a new window
Full text access to rare journals and newspapers printed between 1685 and 1815.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents covering Colonial history, politics, culture and society, arranged into 5 themes: cultural contact, 1492-1969; literature and empire (poetry, prose, drama); the visible empire (photographs, illustrations); religion and empire; and race, class, imperialism and colonialism, c1607-2007.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
Primary documents revealing the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples and the anglophone colonization of North America, Africa and Australasia. From 1650-1920
Permitted Uses for this Database
Mass Observation This link opens in a new window
Empirical data (day surveys), personal writings (diaries) and government publications from Britain, 1937-1957 (with emphasis on wartime): coverage includes social history, popular culture, everyday life, politics, sociology, anthropology and gender studies.
Coverage: 1937 to 1957.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new window
Medieval manuscripts from 13th-16th centuries (some in colour), detailing accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China and including translations, supporting materials, and interactive maps.
Coverage: 1200 to 1599
Permitted Uses for this Database
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new window
Coverage of trans-Atlantic slavery and abolition topics; content includes original manuscripts, other rare printed materials and contextual essays. The focus is on the African Coast, the Middle Passage, slavery and agriculture, the abolition movement, the Underground Railway and slavery today.
Coverage: 1490 to 2007.
Permitted Uses for this Database