LibGuides UFV: Indigenizing the Academy: Education

Introduction

“Nothing about us without us”

Mi’kmaw scholar, Marie Battiste (CAUT/ACPPU Bulletin v. 63(6), June 2016)

Please take some time to view this short video by Dr. Susan Dion of York University:

Dr. Susan D. Dion - Introducing and disrupting the “perfect stranger”
Retrieved from https://vimeo.com/59543958

UFV has set up its own specific site where they have collected a variety of resouces:

Indigenizing the Academy Resources

Indigenizing the Academy

The meaning of Indigenization in our universities By David Newhouse, an Onondaga from the Six Nations of the Grand River community near Brantford, Ontario. He was the first principal of Peter Gzowski College at Trent University and chair of the Department of Indigenous Studies. He is also an associate professor in the business administration program.

Ensouling our schools : a universally designed framework for mental health, well-being, and reconciliation by Jennifer Katz ; with Kevin Lamoureux ; foreword by Ry Moran.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2018
In an educational milieu in which standards and accountability hold sway, schools can become places of stress, marginalization, and isolation instead of learning communities that nurture a sense of meaning and purpose. In Ensouling Our Schools, author Jennifer Katz weaves together methods of creating schools that engender mental, spiritual, and emotional health while developing intellectual thought and critical analysis. Kevin Lamoureux contributes his expertise regarding Indigenous approaches to mental and spiritual health that benefit all students and address the TRC Calls to Action. [From Publisher]
Aboriginal Student Engagement and Achievement : educational practices and cultural sustainability by Lorenzo Cherubini
Call Number: E 96.65 O58 C54 2014
Available as print and e-book.
Approaches to Aboriginal Education in Canada: searching for solutions by Widdowson, Frances and Albert Howard
Call Number: E 96.2 A667 2013
Beyond the asterisk : understanding Native students in higher education by Shotton, Heather J.
Call Number: E 97 B49 2013
First Nations Teachers by June Benyon
Call Number: E 96.2 B48 2008
Growing Up Indigenous: developing effective pedagogy for education and development by Raymond Nichol
Call Number: E-book
Indigenous Education by Robert Wesley Heber
Call Number: LC 3719 I64 2009
Indigenous Educational Models for Contemporary Practice by Maenette K. P. Ah Nee-Benham
Call Number: E-book
Indigenous knowledge and pedagogy in First Nations education : a literature review with recommendations by Marie Battiste
Call Number: E 96.2 B38 2002 & E-book
Integrating Aboriginal Perspectives into the School Curriculum
Call Number: E 96.2 K36 2011
Narrative Life: Democratic Curriculum and Indigenous Learning by Neil Hooley
Call Number: E-book
Naturalizing Indigenous Knowledge in Eurocentric Education by Marie Battiste and James (Sakej) Youngblood Henderson
Call Number: Canadian Journal of Native Education, 2009, 32(1): 5-18
Non-Western Educational Traditions: Indigenous Approaches to Educational Thought and Practice by Timothy G. Reagan
Call Number: E-book
The Renaissance of American Indian Higher Education by Maenette K. P. Ah Nee-Benham
Call Number: E-book
Success Academy: how Native American students prepare for college (and how colleges can prepare for them) by Lee, MaryJo Benton
Call Number: E 97 L46 2013
Subscription
Uncommon Schools by Wade Cole
Call Number: LC 3727 C54 2011 & E-book
Voices from within: Native American faculty and staff on campus by Mary Jo Tippeconnic Fox
Call Number: New Directions for Student Services, Spring 2005, 109: 49 - 59

Indigenizing the Academy

Indigenous Post-Secondary Education & Training
Call Number: E-book
Links to BC Gov't documents:
Aboriginal Policy Framework and Action Plan
2015 Progress Report
2014 Progress Report
2013 Report-Out
Historical Documentation
2012 Report on The Aboriginal Post-Secondary Education Forum
2011 Evaluation of the B.C. Aboriginal Post-Secondary Education Strategy
2007 B.C. Aboriginal Post-Secondary Education Strategy
2007 Forum Summary
2006 Forum Summary
Aboriginal Service Plans
Aboriginal Service Plan Guidelines
The Challenge of Indigenous Education by Linda King; Sabine Schielmann
Call Number: LC 3719 C43 2004
Teaching each other : Nehinuw concepts and indigenous pedagogies by Goulet, Linda
Call Number: E 96.2 G68 2014
Reshaping the University by Rauna Kuokkanen
Call Number: LB 2322.2 K86 2007 & E-book
Aboriginal peoples and post-secondary education : what educators have learned by R.A. Malatest & Associates
Call Number: E 96.2 A364 2004 & E-book
Aboriginal Post-Secondary Education: A Think Piece by Harvey McCue
Call Number: E 96.65 B7 M33 2006 & E-book
Indigenizing the Academy by Devon Abbott Mihesuah
Call Number: E 97 I644 2004
Framework for developing First Nations curriculums by Nella Nelson
Call Number: E 96.65 B7 N45 2005 Curriculum Collection
First Nation Educational Policy in Canada by Jerald Paquette
Call Number: E 96.2 P366 2010
Reforming First Nations education [electronic resource] : from crisis to hope : report of the Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples by Gerry St. Germain,
Call Number: E-book
The New Buffalo: the struggle for Aboriginal post-secondary education in Canada by Blair Stonechild
Call Number: E 96.2 S76 2006
Untying a Dreamcatcher: Coming to Understand Possibilities for Teaching Students of Aboriginal Inheritance by Antoinette Oberg, David Blades, and Jennifer S. Thom
Call Number: Educational Studies, 2007, 42(2): 111 - 139
Indigenizing the Structural Syllabus: The Challenge of Revitalizing Mi'gmaq in Listuguj by Mela Sarkar and Mali A'n Metallic
Call Number: Canadian Modern Language Review, 2009, 66(1): 49 - 71
What is indigenous knowledge? Voices from the academy by Ladislaus Semali
Call Number: E-book
Lálém ye mestíyexw: Re-envisioning a Structure for Indigenization University of the Fraser Valley by University of the Fraser Valley
Bilingual education in an Aboriginal context: Examining the transfer of language skills from Inuktitut to English or French by Esther Usborne et al.
Call Number: International Journal of Bilingual Education and Bilingualism, 2009, 12(6): 667 - 684

Indigenizing the Academy

Colonized classrooms : racism, trauma and resistance in post-secondary education
Call Number: E 96.2 C68 2014
Taking control: power and contradiction in First Nations adult education by Haig-Brown, Celia.
Call Number: E-book
Assessing students' ways of knowing by Sawa, Rick. Foreward by Rita Bouvier
Call Number: E-book

Need a Printable Version?

Indigenizing the Academy: Bibliography of the Libguide
No longer updated as of July 2015.

ProQuest

Need help? Ask us!

Library Hours

refabby (at) ufv (dot) ca

Meet with a Librarian

Library Locations
Library Maps: Abbotsford, Chilliwack, Mission

Assignment Planner
Citing Sources
WriteAway

Search UFV's databases and library catalogue all at once

Discover articles, books, videos, images, statistics, and more from the Library's print and online collections

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

When you have done your search, don’t forget to use the limiters. The main ones are:

Available in Library Collection..............	you will be able to read the articles/books online or find them in the library
Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journals .....	if you need journal articles only
Print Books........................................	limits mainly to our physical book, collection
Subject ...................................................	a listing of alternative keywords that you can use to improve your search
Geography...............................................	want to limit to Canada? use this
Limit by Database ................................	gives you a list of the databases that have been searched (from here you can limit to only one database)

There are a small number of databases which are not pre-indexed in the EBSCO's central index, including Canadian Business and Current Affairs, Canadian Newsstand, and CPI-Q.

The database names are displayed on the right side of the screen. You may click on the database to view the additional search results.

Remember to use this toolbar to easily:

Email yourself the article

Cite your article (provides the citation in many different styles)

Permalink links to the article whether you are on or off campus. Use this link to email to your professor, or classmates.

By default, Find It searches all terms you have entered, without the need to use AND. For example: children television violence will find items that contain all 3 terms.
By default, Find It searches through the full text of documents (if available). This may cause a large number of results, and not all are relevant to your subject. Results are returned in a relevancy ranked order. You can change the ranking to date if you wish.
To improve the relevancy of your search results, enclose phrases in "quotation marks". For example: "British Columbia" or "global warming".
Include the apostrophe. For example, use "handmaid's tale" rather than "handmaids tale"
To find variant endings for a word, use the * asterisk (truncation symbol.) For example: delinquen* finds delinquent, delinquents, delinquency
To find books, e-books. videos or other items in the UFV library, refine your search by selecting "Catalogue only". You can also limit to "Print books" if you want something to hold!
To find scholarly journal articles, refine your search by selecting "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed)"
You can refine a search by limiting to Language. However, be aware that many English language articles have not been tagged as English, so will be missing from your search results.
Many items have direct links to retrieve the full text. For those that don't, use "Full Text Finder" to determine if UFV has the item in print or online.
To add in more Canadian content, explore the "Continue Search" on the right side of the screen.

System Requirements

In order to effectively use all EBSCOhost features, the minimum browser requirements are Internet Explorer 7.0, Firefox 8.0, Google Chrome 16, and Safari 5.1 (for Macintosh). You must also have Adobe ® Reader® installed to view the PDF Full Text files. If you are using Visual Search, you must also install Adobe ® Flash Player 8.0 or higher.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) - User Guide

Custom made UFV tutorials:

For more Library How To Videos

Tutorials from the service provider:

For More EDS tutorials