LibGuides UFV: Indigenizing the Academy: General

Introduction

Some of our books and e-books. To look for more research, please use our EDS search box at the bottom of this page.

Indigenizing the Academy

First Nations, First Thoughts by Annis May Timpson
Call Number: E 78 C2 F5544 2009
Indigenous Identity and Resistance by Brendan Hokowhitu et al.
Call Number: GN 380 I525 2010
Indigenous Knowledges in Global Contexts by George Dei et al.
Call Number: E-book
Indigenous Social Work Around the World by Mel Gray (Editor); John Coates (Editor); Michael Yellow Bird
Call Number: HV 3176 I64 2008
International Law and Indigenous Knowledge by Chidi Oguamanam
Call Number: E-book
Kaandossiwin: How we come to know by Kathleen E. Absolon
Call Number: E 76.7 A26 2011
Research As Resistance: Critical, indigenous, and anti-oppressive approaches by Lesley Brown and Susan Strega
Call Number: H 62 R4473 2005
This Is Not a Peace Pipe by Dale Turner
Call Number: E 92 T87 2006
Working with Indigenous Knowledge by Louise Grenier
Call Number: GN 476 G74 1998 & E-book

Acknowledging Stó:lō territory and Welcome to Stó:lō territory
Draft April 2011

Indigenizing the Academy

Activating the Heart : storytelling, knowledge sharing, and relationship by Julia Christensen (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018-01-15
Activating the Heart is an exploration of storytelling as a tool for knowledge production and sharing to build new connections between people and their histories, environments, and cultural geographies. The collection pays particular attention to the significance of storytelling in Indigenous knowledge frameworks ...
Indigenous Archaeologies: Decolonizing theory and practice by Claire Smith; Hans Martin Wobst
Call Number: E-book
Indigenous Knowledge and Ethics: a Darrell Posey reader by Kristina Plenderleith
Call Number: GN 476.78 P67 2004
Indigenous Legal Traditions by Law Commission of Canada
Call Number: KE 7735 I54 2007
Indigenous Methodologies: Characteristics, conversations and contexts by Margaret Elizabeth Kovach
Call Number: E 76.7 K68 2009
Justice As Healing by Wanda D. McCaslin
Call Number: KE 7722 C7 J87 2005
A metaphoric mind : selected writings of Joseph Couture by Couture, Joseph E.
Call Number: E 78 C2 C685 2013 and E-book
Non-Western Perspectives on Learning and Knowing by Sharan B. Merriam
Call Number: LB 1060 N66 2007
Research Is Ceremony by Shawn Wilson
Call Number: GN 380 W554 2008
Walking in the good way = Ioterihwakwaríhshion tsi íhse : aboriginal social work education by Gail Stacey-Moore
Call Number: HV 11 W352 2009

Indigenous Canada

Indigenous Canada
A MOOC offered by University of Alberta. Explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada.

Need a Printable Version?

Indigenizing the Academy: Bibliography of the Libguide
No longer updated as of July 2015.

ProQuest

Need help? Ask us!

Library Hours

refabby (at) ufv (dot) ca

Meet with a Librarian

Library Locations
Library Maps: Abbotsford, Chilliwack, Mission

Assignment Planner
Citing Sources
WriteAway

Search UFV's databases and library catalogue all at once

Discover articles, books, videos, images, statistics, and more from the Library's print and online collections

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

When you have done your search, don’t forget to use the limiters. The main ones are:

Available in Library Collection..............	you will be able to read the articles/books online or find them in the library
Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journals .....	if you need journal articles only
Print Books........................................	limits mainly to our physical book, collection
Subject ...................................................	a listing of alternative keywords that you can use to improve your search
Geography...............................................	want to limit to Canada? use this
Limit by Database ................................	gives you a list of the databases that have been searched (from here you can limit to only one database)

There are a small number of databases which are not pre-indexed in the EBSCO's central index, including Canadian Business and Current Affairs, Canadian Newsstand, and CPI-Q.

The database names are displayed on the right side of the screen. You may click on the database to view the additional search results.

Remember to use this toolbar to easily:

Email yourself the article

Cite your article (provides the citation in many different styles)

Permalink links to the article whether you are on or off campus. Use this link to email to your professor, or classmates.

By default, Find It searches all terms you have entered, without the need to use AND. For example: children television violence will find items that contain all 3 terms.
By default, Find It searches through the full text of documents (if available). This may cause a large number of results, and not all are relevant to your subject. Results are returned in a relevancy ranked order. You can change the ranking to date if you wish.
To improve the relevancy of your search results, enclose phrases in "quotation marks". For example: "British Columbia" or "global warming".
Include the apostrophe. For example, use "handmaid's tale" rather than "handmaids tale"
To find variant endings for a word, use the * asterisk (truncation symbol.) For example: delinquen* finds delinquent, delinquents, delinquency
To find books, e-books. videos or other items in the UFV library, refine your search by selecting "Catalogue only". You can also limit to "Print books" if you want something to hold!
To find scholarly journal articles, refine your search by selecting "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed)"
You can refine a search by limiting to Language. However, be aware that many English language articles have not been tagged as English, so will be missing from your search results.
Many items have direct links to retrieve the full text. For those that don't, use "Full Text Finder" to determine if UFV has the item in print or online.
To add in more Canadian content, explore the "Continue Search" on the right side of the screen.

System Requirements

In order to effectively use all EBSCOhost features, the minimum browser requirements are Internet Explorer 7.0, Firefox 8.0, Google Chrome 16, and Safari 5.1 (for Macintosh). You must also have Adobe ® Reader® installed to view the PDF Full Text files. If you are using Visual Search, you must also install Adobe ® Flash Player 8.0 or higher.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) - User Guide

Custom made UFV tutorials:

For more Library How To Videos

Tutorials from the service provider:

For More EDS tutorials