LibGuides UFV: Art of the Book 2018: Websites

Online Collections

The following websites showcase digital collections of book art, either by individuals or curated from a group of various artists.

Artists' Books Online: An Online Repository of Facsimiles, Metadata, and Criticism
As the title suggests, this is an online repository of artists’ books. Each work of art is described in detail, complete with artist profile, artistic style, exhibition history, and related works, subjects and themes.
Historical Book Arts Collection
Jaffe Center for Book Arts (Florida Atlantic University Libraries)
Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection
Karen’s Whimsy - Altered Books
Karen Hatzigeorgiou creates altered books and book sculptures. Images of her work are accompanied by detailed descriptions of how each piece was created. The artist also reveals the inspiration and motivation behind her work.
Stuart A. Rose Library Artists' Books Collection
A Medieval Book That Opens Six Different Ways, Revealing Six Different Books in One

DIY Altered Books

Got any old books that you want to “upcycle” into works of art? The following websites and blogs offer ideas on how to make altered books. They are also great resources for viewing different types of book art.

10 ways to recycle your old books
Provides links to websites with projects on “upcycling” old books. Examples include converting old books into headboards and storage boxes.
Creativity Portal - Getting Started with Altered Books and Other Altered Art
Provides links to tutorials for creating altered books and book art.

A Sense of Place

Image Source: "Dea Fischer.A Sense of Place.1" by Abecedarian Gallery is licensed under CC BY-ND 2.0

Art of the Book 2018: Websites

Online Collections

DIY Altered Books

A Sense of Place

The Notebook Project