Data Services: Data Access

The Canadian Census Analyser is hosted by the University of Toronto's Data Library Service (called CHASS). It provides access to 1971-2011 Census Public Use Microdata Files (PUMF's) for (1) individuals, (2) families, and (3) households & dwellings. The CHASS interface allows users to download Census PUMF's for individuals only. Alternatively, U of T provides the option to access all of the Census PUMF's using software called Survey Documentation & Analysis (SDA). This allows users to run basic analyses online without having to purchase and learn complex software such as SPSS. For more complex analyses of the variables, users can download the files into SPSS, SAS or other formats.

CANSIM stands for Canadian Socio-economic Information Management System. Statistics Canada conducts hundreds of surveys in addition to the Census, and publishes many of the results in tables in the CANSIM collection. Since most of the surveys are conducted on a regular basis, results can be compared over time using these time-series tables to identify trends. Updated weekly.

A digital repository for social science data, including polling data.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Hosted by University of Toronto's Data Library Service (CHASS). Provides web access to the microdata files provided through UFV's membership in Statistics Canada's DLI, and a few microdata sets from other sources. Unlike the IDLS service, it does not include DLI sources that are originally issued on CD-ROM, such as Financial Performance Indicators for Canadian Business. The UofT Microdata Analysis and Subsetting Service collection includes many other Canadian and international datasets. Note that UFV users only have access to the freely-available public files and those from the DLI.UT/DLS provides a program called Survey Documentation & Analysis (SDA) to run online statistical analyses on microdata files. SDA supports many types of analysis, including frequencies, cross-tabulations, comparisons of means, correlation matrices, and multiple regressions. Users can also apply controls, filters or weights and can generate tables and charts. Users can also download to SPSS or SAS.

Rich Data Services (RDS) is Statistics Canada’s analytical platform for Public Use Microdata files (PUMFs) and their metadata. The RDS Explorer and Tabulation Engine's user-friendly interfaces allow users to browse, interact, and download data and metadata for online or offline analysis. [From Website]
Permitted Uses for this Database