LibGuides UFV: Economic Indicators: Journals

Search ProQuest Databases

UFV Journals

UFV has access to more than 60,000 journal, magazine, and newspaper titles online, and about 500 current titles in print.

Economics Journals
Mathematics Journals
Limit the list to probability & statistics
UFV Journals List
List of all print and electronic journals available at UFV; search for a specific journal title or browse by subject.

Journals beyond UFV

You can request articles from journals not held by UFV through interlibrary loan. Request forms can be accessed from the library's web site, or through the Full Text Finder link in the library's research databases. Articles generally arrive within 2-5 business days; books may take a little longer.

Interlibrary Loans
More information on requesting materials from other libraries.
Full Text Finder

Types of Journals

Not all journals are created equal, and not all will be appropriate for every research need. These are the most common types of journals you are likely to encounter in your research, presented in order from most to least academic or scholarly:

Scholarly Journals: reports of original research, theoretical, experimental or applied; many are refereed/peer-reviewed
Trade/Professional Journals: current trends, news & events in a particular field; some are peer-reviewed
Journals of Commentary or Opinion: commentary on political & social issues; often source of specific political viewpoint, e.g., conservative, liberal, or specific interest group
Newspapers: current information, news stories; local & regional focus
Popular Magazines: current events & news; primary source for popular culture

Types of Periodicals

Research Databases: Best Bets

CANSIM This link opens in a new window
CANSIM is Statistics Canada's database of time series covering a wide variety of social and economic aspects of Canadian life. Hundreds of surveys are included, in addition to the Census, and results are published in thousands of tables.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Statistics Canada This link opens in a new window
Statistics relating to Canada's population, resources, economy, society and culture.
Permitted Uses for this Database
BC Stats This link opens in a new window
BC Stats is the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia with a BC focus on demographics and socio-economic conditions.
Permitted Uses for this Database
World Bank Data Catalog This link opens in a new window
Datasets on key indicators and statistics on 228 countries of the world.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Research Databases: Also Try

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Academic search complete assists researchers in the general exploration of all academic fields. Recent publications in journals, magazines and newspapers will help researchers better understand broad topic areas. Peer-reviewed academic articles help users with research papers, group assignments and keyword and subject area development.
AgEcon This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to articles about working papers, conference papers, journal articles about agricultural and applied economics.
Coverage: 1995 to present.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Arxiv.org This link opens in a new window
Electronic preprints of scientific papers in the fields of mathematics, physics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics; they are not considered to be peer-reviewed.
Coverage: 1991 to present.
Permitted Uses for this Database
BC Stats This link opens in a new window
BC Stats is the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia with a BC focus on demographics and socio-economic conditions.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Business Source Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
All disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. It is particularly useful for finding company profiles from MarketLine/Medtrack, as well as industry profiles, country reports, and market research reports.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Census Analyzer This link opens in a new window
Canadian census data is provided with the CHASS interface. Custom tables may be created combining geographic and census variables.
Permitted Uses for this Database
ODESI: Ontario Data Documentation, Extraction Service and Infrastructure This link opens in a new window
A digital repository for social science data, including polling data.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection of over 20,000 titles in a variety of academic subject areas. Includes archival footage/newsreels on certain topics.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Ideas: Economics and Finance Research This link opens in a new window
This economics database provides access to bibliographic information, abstracts and some full text from an international selection of journals, working papers, institutional documents and software.
Permitted Uses for this Database
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
American Mathematical Society's database of more than 1.8 million items for mathematics research, with more than 192,000 links to original articles.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database) This link opens in a new window
Demographic, economic and marketing statistics for over 200 countries. Information includes market performance, market size, company and brand shares and profiles of leading companies and brands.
Coverage: 1997 to present, including forecasts.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of Sage handbooks and encyclopedias, providing detailed, authoritative background information in the social sciences.
Permitted Uses for this Database
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on science, technology, medicine, with some coverage of social sciences and humanities. UFV subscribes to journal content only, not books and reference works. Coverage: 1995 to present. If you see a "site can't be reached message", change browser to Firefox.

Permitted Uses for this Database
SEDAR+ This link opens in a new window
Electronic filings submitted by public companies and mutual funds to the Canadian Securities Administrators from January 1997 to the present.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Social Sciences Abstracts (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts,indexing and full text articles from key publications in the Social Sciences.
Coverage: 1984 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full text for scholarly journals and books in science (biology, chemistry, physics, life sciences, geology), medicine, mathematics and statistics, business, computing science, and the humanities and social sciences.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Statistics Canada This link opens in a new window
Statistics relating to Canada's population, resources, economy, society and culture.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Statistics Canada Publications Catalogue This link opens in a new window
Statistics Canada Publications Catalogue provides searchable access to statistical publications on topics such as business, manufacturing, farming, health, food consumption, education, crime & justice, and much more.
Permitted Uses for this Database