LibGuides UFV: English Literature: Links

Contemporary Literature Internet Resources

Contemporary Writers in the UK
Created by the British Council it includes of biographies of British and commonwealth authors as well as news, awards, prizes and events.
The Booker Prize
Annual award given to best book in the British Commonwealth.

Discovering Dickens: A Community Reading Project
Hard Times and Great Expectations online with maps, illustrations, keys to allusions, and glossary of historical things.
Romanticism and Victorianism on the Net (RaVON)
International refereed electronic journal devoted to British Romantic and Victorian studies.
Victorian Dictionary
A website created by enthusiast and British mystery writer Lee Jackson. Very detailed source of information on daily life, utilizing primary documents.
Victoria Research Web
A conversational guide to resources.
Victorian Web
A wealth of information on Victorian literature, history and culture.
Victorian Women Writer's Project
An electronic (HTML) collection of texts by British women writers of the late Victorian period.

The New Chaucer Society
Site includes the Chaucer Bibliography Online, as well as links to texts, manuscripts, medieval discussion groups, journals and newsletters, multimedia Chaucer. Highly recommended by Choice Reviews.
Geoffrey Chaucer
This Harvard University webpage provides a range of glossed texts, translations of relevant analogues, critical articles, selected works by Chaucer's contemporaries, graphics and general information about the Middle Ages.
The Labyrith: Resources for Medieval Studies
This portal from Georgetown University links to all things medieval; subject categories for browsing and searching capabilities.
The Orb: Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies
Academic site, with encyclopedia, online textbooks, excerpts and full text reference sources, transcriptions and translations of medieval texts, list of 45 things all medievalists should know.

Early Modern Literary Studies
An online academic journal exploring English literature, literary culture, and language during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. Contributors include faculty at SFU and UBC.

Internet Shakespeare Editions
Provides high quality resources on Shakespeare's works, his plays in performance and his life and times. UFV is a Friend of ISE.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Renascence Editions
An online collection of works printed in English between the years 1477 and 1799.

British Women Romantic Poets
An electronic collections of texts from the University of California Davis General Library.
The Life and Work of John Keats
Selected work, bibliography, critical essays, portraits and various primary documents including letters.
The Life and Work of Lord Byron
Selected work, bibliography, critical essays, portraits and various primary documents including letters.
Romanticism and Victorianism on the Net (RaVON)
International refereed electronic journal devoted to British Romantic and Victorian studies.
Romantic Circles
Refereed scholarly Website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture: University of Maryland.
The William Blake Archive
Sponsored by the Library of Congress and supported by several academic institutions.

Although librarians have carefully compiled these sources, there is no substitute for your own evaluation. Use the following guides to help you.

CARS Evaluation Checklist
CARS = Credibility, Accuracy, Reasonableness, and Support
The CRAAP Test
CRAAP = Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose
Critical Evaluation of Information Sources
Questions to ask, and where to find the answers when evaluating sources

Glossary of Rhetorical Terms
Guide to the terms of classical rhetoric from the University of Kentucky.
Luminarium
Anthology of medieval, Renaissance and seventeenth century writers.