LibGuides UFV: English Literature: Books

Featured Books

The Oxford Handbook of Shakespearean Tragedy by Michael Neill (Editor); David Schalkwyk (Editor)
Call Number: PR 2983 O97 2016
A Companion to Romantic Poetry by Charles Mahoney (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
Left Out: the forgotten tradition of radical publishing for children in Britain 1910-1949 by Kimberley Reynolds
Call Number: PR 990 R49 2016
Handbook of British Romanticism by Ralf Haekel (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
The Queen's Dumbshows: John Lydgate and the Making of Early Theater by Claire Sponsler
Call Number: Ebook
Women's Writing in English: Early Modern England by Patricia Demers
Call Number: Ebook

Critical Insights and More

The Canterbury Tales, by Geoffrey Chaucer
Call Number: Ebook
Eugene O'Neill
Call Number: Ebook
Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen
Call Number: Ebook

Salem Press Literature
Access to the Critical Insights series which is the best of both classic and current literary criticism of the world’s most-studied works and authors, as well as Masterplots, the plots of major literary works.

Search for English Literature Books in the Library Catalogue

English Literature Old English	English Literature Middle English
English Literature Early Modern	English Literature 17th century
English Literature History and Criticism	Austen, Jane

To find books BY an author:
Change "words or phrase" to AUTHOR. Type in author's last name, first name.
For example: Austen, Jane

To find books ABOUT an author:
Change "word or phrase" to SUBJECT. Type in author's last name, first name.
For example: Chaucer, Geoffrey

To find a specific novel or play:
Change "word or phrase" to TITLE. Type in title of the work.
For example: Pride and Prejudice

To find books about a specific TIME PERIOD, try these SUBJECT searches.
English Literature Old English
English Literature Middle English
English Literature Early Modern
English Literature 17th century
English Literature 18th century
English Literature 19th century
English Literature 20th century

Other related terms:
English poetry
English drama
English Literature History and Criticism

Browse for Books in the Library

Books are shelved by call number; books about English Literature are generally found in the PR section:

In Chilliwack	In Abbotsford
PR 57 - PR 78	PR 57 - PR 78	Criticism
PR 111 - PR 116	PR 111 - PR 116	Women Authors
PR 500 - PR 614	PR 500 - PR 614	Poetry
PR 621 - PR 744	PR 621 - PR 744	Drama
PR 750 - PR 890	PR 750 - PR 890	Prose
PR 1490 - PR 1799	PR 1490 - PR 1799	Anglo-Saxon Literature
PR 2199 - PR 3195	PR 2199 - PR 3195	English Renaissance (1500 - 1640)
PR 3991 - PR 5990	PR 3991 - PR 5990	19th Century
PR 6000 - PR 6076	PR 6000 - PR 6076	20th Century
PR 6100 - PR 6126	PR 6100 - PR 6126	21st Century

For more information about Call Numbers

Find Books at Other Libraries

To find and request books from other libraries, try the following:

Illume
Search libraries in B.C. Click on Request this Item button to request the item; delivery time is 5-10 business days
WorldCat
Search libraries beyond B.C. To request an item, use our interlibrary loan forms; delivery time is 1-2 weeks
Interlibrary Loans
More information on requesting materials from other libraries.

E-Books at UFV

Books about English literature, as well as electronic novels, etc. are available from these e-book sites.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
eBook Collection (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window

Electronic Book Collections

Early English Books Online (EEBO) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A digital facsimile edition of virtually every book published in English between 1473 - 1700.

Permitted Uses for this Database
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Facsimile editions of over 136,000 books, plays, essays, broadsides and more published in the 18th century.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Internet Shakespeare Editions This link opens in a new window
Provides high quality resources on Shakespeare's works, his plays in performance and his life and times. UFV is a Friend of ISE.
Permitted Uses for this Database
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Freely accessible digitized books in the public domain, as well as in copyright works from major library collections.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Google Books contains the digitized copies of books in the public domain and in-copyright, and is a powerful tool allowing users to search the full text content. Views of the book vary from full view to no preview available.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Copyright free versions of a large variety of publications.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Oxford University Text Archive
Extensive list of electronic texts, including many classic plays. Note: you need to request the text and will be sent an email link to download a zip file.