LibGuides UFV: HIST 318, History of Modern Germany: Home

Introduction

This guide has been developed as a introduction to resources for the study of the history of modern Germany from 1870 to the 2000s. It is not a comprehensive listing of sources, but rather a starting point from which you can begin your research according to your information needs.

Top 5 Resources

Short on time? Just want to dive right in? Start here.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
The history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more.
Permitted Uses for this Database
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of full text scholarly journals and books across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Browse images to find ArtSTOR collections. 3 to 5 year embargo is common.
Permitted Uses for this Database
UFV Library Catalogue This link opens in a new window
Find books, videos and more in the UFV library.
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Full text access to Cambridge University Press journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. International focus.
Coverage: 1998 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Facsimile editions of over 136,000 books, plays, essays, broadsides and more published in the 18th century.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographies of influential people in British history. Simultaneous Users: 3.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Map of the German Empire (1871-1918)

Karte des Deutschen Reiches 1871–1918 / Map of German Reich 1871–1918