LibGuides UFV: UFV Student Library Orientation: Finding Magazine and Journal Articles

What are Magazine and Journal Articles?

You may be asked to find articles for your research. These are short works
that are published in magazines, like the Economist, or journals,
like the Canadian Journal of Chemistry.

You can find them using our Research Databases noted below.

Check out these useful video tutorials on how to effectively use our research databases.

How do I get access to the research databases from home?
UFV faculty, staff and students registered in the current semester may access the library's electronic resources from off campus. This includes e-books and research databases.
What Are Databases and Why You Need Them?
A Yavapai College student explains the benefits of using library databases for research over searching the web.
Finding Journal Titles
Learn how to locate UFV journal titles in the collection.
Using Full Text Finder
This tutorial will help you access the full-text versions of articles in the library’s databases.
Scholarly vs Popular Sources
Explore different types of sources and how they can be of value in your academic work.

Helpful Research Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Academic search complete assists researchers in the general exploration of all academic fields. Recent publications in journals, magazines and newspapers will help researchers better understand broad topic areas. Peer-reviewed academic articles help users with research papers, group assignments and keyword and subject area development.
Explora Canada (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Explora Canada provides a simpler interface for students to search for topic overviews, magazine articles and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary collection of magazines, journals, e-books and audiofiles.
Permitted Uses for this Database
MAS Ultra: School Edition (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Full text for many popular, high school magazines, full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and a large image collection of photos, maps & flags, color PDFs.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Need to write an argumentative essay? Look here for information that cover both sides of popular debates like global warming, cosmetic surgery, designer babies and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Search for Journal Articles and more

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

Tip: Remember to take advantages of the limiter: Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) to limit primarily to journal articles.

Example Searches:

kissing in public
dogs "meat animals"
public breastfeeding
tradition "social change"
marriage "social change"
religion "social change"
food "social change"

Can't remember what to do?

1. In the search box put your search terms.

2. Hit Go.

3. If you are off campus remember to login with your student number and myUFV password.

4. Then look at your results. If you are looking for journal articles click on the limit Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) to the left of your results.

5. Then search your results for an article that looks good to you. When you find it click on the PDF full text link/HTML full text to open the article. If there is no link for the full text click on Full Text Finder

6. If you are looking for books, click on the limit Catalogue only. You might have to change your search terms to be more simple when looking for books. If the Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journals limit is ticked you will have to remove it to see books.