LibGuides UFV: Peace Studies: Introduction

Introduction

This guide has been developed as a general introduction to resources in the field of Peace Studies. Peace Studies is "the academic study of the causes of conflict and other matters relating to the establishment or maintenance of peace" (OED). It is not a comprehensive listing of sources, but rather a starting point from which you can begin your research according to your information needs.

The UFV Library gratefully acknowledges the donation from Dr. John and Erna Friesen to purchase libary materials relating to Peace Studies.

Top 5 Resources

Short on time? Just want to dive right in? Start here.

UFV Library Catalogue This link opens in a new window
Find books, videos and more in the UFV library.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Academic search complete assists researchers in the general exploration of all academic fields. Recent publications in journals, magazines and newspapers will help researchers better understand broad topic areas. Peer-reviewed academic articles help users with research papers, group assignments and keyword and subject area development.
Taylor & Francis Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1300 scholarly journals published by Taylor & Francis. All subjects, including social sciences, humanities, science and technology.
Coverage: 1997 to present.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Collection includes journals like Journal of Peace Research, Conflict management and Peace Science, and Security Dialogue
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of full text scholarly journals and books across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Browse images to find ArtSTOR collections. 3 to 5 year embargo is common.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Journal of Peace Research

Current research from the latest issue of the journal:

Library Quick Links

My Library Account
See what books you have out, renew them or place holds.
Library How-to's/FAQs
Libanswers provides you with access to various tutorials on using the library ... from the library catalogue to "Full Text Finder" and frequently asked questions.
Guide for Students at a Distance
Don't come to campus? These services are for you.
Assignment Planner
Tips and strategies for completing your research project on time.

Need help? Ask us!

Library Hours

refabby (at) ufv (dot) ca

Meet with a Librarian

Library Locations
Library Maps: Abbotsford, Chilliwack, Mission

Assignment Planner
Citing Sources
WriteAway