Journal articles can be useful sources of information for almost any subject area. They contain current information or research, and are usually written on specific aspects of a topic.
Use research databases to search for articles on a specific topic. Databases can be accessed from off campus by current UFV students and employees.
UFV has access to more than 60,000 journal, magazine, and newspaper titles online, and about 500 current titles in print.
Search for scholarly journal articles in all subjects,
with strength in the Humanities. Full text is available.
Coverage starts with Vol. 1, No. 1 of all titles, and
goes up to 3 to 5 years ago.
Please Note: You do not have to create an account. Just X out of the "Unlock more with JSTOR" box and you will see the search option.
Examples:
Art-related subjects, including art history, architecture, graphic arts, industrial design, motion pictures, photography, and sculpture.
Permitted Uses for this Database
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
You can request articles from journals not held by UFV through interlibrary loan. Request forms can be accessed from the library's web site, or through the Full Text Finder link in the library's research databases. Articles generally arrive within 2-5 business days; books may take a little longer.
Not all journals are created equal, and not all will be appropriate for every research need. These are the most common types of journals you are likely to encounter in your research, presented in order from most to least academic or scholarly:
The Concise APA Handbook