Scholarly Publishing: To Submit or Not to Submit?

Here is an email that was sent requesting my submission.

Before responding there are a few questions I need to ask myself:

• When was the webpage last copyrighted?
• Does this source look reliable?
• What is the Journal Impact Factor?
• Who are the editors?
• Who does the peer review?
• Does it cost anything?

Take a look at this email and ask these questions yourself. Would you submit?

Here is an email that was sent requesting my submission.

Before responding there are a few questions I need to ask myself:

• When was the webpage last copyrighted?
• Does this source look reliable?
• What is the Journal Impact Factor?
• Who are the editors?
• Who does the peer review?
• Does it cost anything?

Take a look at this email and ask these questions yourself. Would you submit?

Researchers Call

2015

The journal editorial board members herby invite you to submit your scientific manuscripts to multidisciplinary

WULFENIA

JOURNAL

(5-Year-Impact Factor: 0.649)

http://multidisciplinarywulfenia.org/submit/index.html

�

MUSEUMGASSE 2, KLAGENFURT, AUSTRIA, A-9021
Tel: +4346353630576

New Events:

1. The review team aims to make decision on rejection or possible acceptance of submitted papers in a week.
2. The journal 5-year impact factor is now: 0.649!!!
3. The journal acceptance rate is now increased to give authors a better publication chance.

If you don't want to receive our emails in the future, please click here to unsubscribe.

Here is an email that was sent requesting my submission.

Before responding there are a few questions I need to ask myself:

• When was the webpage last copyrighted?
• Does this source look reliable?
• What is the Journal Impact Factor?
• Who are the editors?
• Who does the peer review?
• Does it cost anything?

Take a look at this email and ask these questions yourself. Would you submit?

Dear   Diane Cruickshank ,

    Warm greetings to you and hope everything is going well with you    !

       I am Amy  from  Journal of Communication and Computer (ISSN:1548-7709), USA.  We have learned your paper entitled Data Transfer between Discovery Services and Library Catalogs: A Case Study at the University 

of the Fraser Valley   from  Asia-Pacific Digital Library Conference ICADL 2015  .

     We are very interested in your paper and would like to publish your paper in our journal. If you  have the idea of making our journal a vehicle for your research interests and have  any unpublished papers  or academic books ,  please send the electronic version of your papers or books to us in MS word format via email attachment or from our online submission system at this link address , Surely, if there are any other unpublished articles relate  to this research directions , you are welcome to forward them to our journal as well .

 Currently, we are trying to invite some scholars who are willing to join our editorial board or be our reviewers. If you are interested in our journal, please send your CV to us. Hope to keep in touch by email and publish some 

papers or books for you and your friends. As an American academic publishing group, we wish to become your friends. Expect to get your reply soon.

  In addition, our journals has been indexed in CrossRef now. So each article published in our journal can have a DOI (Digital Object Unique Identifier DOI) number. Also, our  journals is indexed in Google Scholar. The H5 factor

are 7 and 8, respectively.

At last , please kindly find the attached file for you, which is our latest journal, you may scan and read it  when you feel free.

Best Regards,

Amy

Editorial Office

Journal of Communication and Computer

Email: informatics@davidpublishing.org;  informatics@davidpublishing.com  or  com58puter@hotmail.com;

Tel: 1-323-984-7526; 1-323-410-1082   Fax: 1-323-984-7374; 1-323-908-0457

Welcome to visit our website at:   www.davidpublisher.com   

Below is a brief introduction of our journal

Description

Journal of Communication and Computer (JCC) is an international, scholarly and peer-reviewed journals (print and online) published monthly . The Journal seeks to bridge and integrate the intellectual, methodological, and substantive diversity of scholarship, and to encourage a vigorous dialogue between scholars and practitioners. The Journal welcomes contributions which promote the exchange of ideas and rational discourse between educators and researchers all over the world. To this end the Journal publish original articles concerned with the advance of generalized computer and communication throughout the world. The Journal publish original scientific work related to strategic and applied studies in all aspects of generalized computer and communication, as well as reviews of scientific topics of current generalized computer and communication relevance. The journal is published in English. The e-journal provides free and open access to all of its content on our website. Accepted papers will immediately appear online followed by printed in hard copy. The attachments is the sample of our journals, please check it.

Journal of Communication and Computer is collected and indexed by the Library of U.S Congress, on whose official website ( http://catalog.loc.gov) an on-line inquiry can be triggered with publication number, ISSN1548-7709, as key words in “Basic Search” column..

The journal is also retrieved by some renowned databases:

 ★  Google Scholar

★  ProQuest, USA

★  Database of EBSCO, Massachusetts, USA

★ Journal Index.net

★ Base

★ Scientific Indexing Service

★ Turkish Education Index

★ Scholarsteer

★ NewJour

★ SJournal Index

★CiteFactor, USA

•   Cabell
•   CNKI
•   Chinese Database of CEPS, American Federal Computer Library Center (OCLC), USA
•   Chinese Scientific Journals Database, VIP Corporation, Chongqing, China
•   Database of Cambridge Science Abstracts (CSA), USA
•   Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory, USA
•   Summon Serials Solutions
• Academic Key

Journal of Communication and Computer aspects covered include:

Communications and Networks: Optical Networking, Pervasive Computing & Mobile Networking,  QoS Control  &  Traffic Modeling, Cross-Layer Design and Optimization,  Signal Processing for Communications,  Network Security Cognitive Radio Networks, 3G and 4G Beyond, Wireless Platform: Applications and Testbeds, Protocols and Algorithms for Wireless Networks, Networks Security, Trusted Computing, Intrusion Detection and Prevention Biometric Security and Artificial Intelligence Cryptography and security protocols, Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining,  E-commerce protocols,  E-Health,  Wireless and Mobile Computing,  UWB and Impulse Radio, Channel Modeling and Characterization,  Modulation/Coding/Signal Processing,  B3G Systems,  WiMAX  and  WLAN,  Advances in Wireless Video,  RFID Technologies,  Mobility and Hand off Management, Wireless/mobile networked Applications, Multimedia in Wireless Ad-hoc Networks, Authentication, Authorization and Billing, Location Based Services (LBS), Applications and Services for B3G/4G era, Radio Resource Management, Networking and Systems Wireless sensors networking, Network measurement  and  Management, Ad hoc  and  sensor networks,  Multimedia QoS and traffic Management, Internetworking of WLAN  &  Cellular Networks,  Network protocols for Mobile Networks ;

National Library: National Digital Library; Design of digital library system; Construction of digital resources and its public service, Special library; Digital library service; Service mode;  Information service, Competitive intelligence;   Long tail theory; Defense intelligence,  Digital resources;  Long-term preservation; Libraries, CALIS digital resources evaluation; Evaluation indicator;  Evaluation content; Application guideline, Document delivery; inter library loan;  Resource sharing, Online cooperative cataloging; Resources sharing, Cultural information resource;  Sharing project; Technical support ; Network system ; Service mode.

 Databases Technology:Data House; Data structures; Database theory; Data Mining; Robot Technology; Artificial Intelligence; Web Intelligence; Pattern Recognition;Knowledge Discovery; Intelligent Agent; Reversed Engineering; Information Hiding; Digital Watermark; Chinese Processing; Internet; E-Business; E-Government;  E-Hospital;  E-Learning;  Computer Modeling; Operating Systems;  Human Computer Interaction ;  Cryptography; Data Encryption; Multimedia Technology and Applications; Natural Language Processing and Recognition; Speech Processing; Neural Networks; Virtual and Internet Education; Data Communications; Computer Vision; Sensor Network; Rough Set Technology; Virtual Reality; Information Retrieval; Information Extraction; Geography Information System; Information Secret Technology; Search Engine Technology; Graph and Image Processing;  

Monitoring: correlation and diagnosis,Performance management, fault management and reconfiguration, Resource allocation and optimization, IT services, business impact analysis and business process management, Configuration and accounting, Security, trust and privacy, Energy management and optimization, Cyber - Physical Systems and Smart Cities, Sensor networks, opportunistic and mobile ad-hoc networks, Pervasive systems including Body Area, Networks, Vehicular and Home Networks, Cloud computing and Grid Environments,  Enterprise Systems and Federations,  Multimedia and data services,  Data centers, Social networks,  cloud based applications, Management Techniques and New Paradigms, Self-Management and adaptation, Economic models for management, Policy-based and declarative models of management, Virtualization, Control theory and optimization,  Stochastic models and machine  learning in management ;

ICT for smart cities: Localization and navigation,  satellite communications;  Smart  Grid  and  ICT for power management;  Heterogeneous networks and small cells;  Ad-hoc  and  multi-sensor communications;  Secure  Self- self-organizing/deploying networks; Multi-antenna systems; Multi-carrier systems; Multi-user systems; Beam forming; Cognitive green radio; Software defined networks; Game Theory,  large scale cooperative communications; Peer - to -peer, device-to-device, machine-tomachine communications; Optical communications and technologies; Image processing, Video compression, distributed video coding;

Embedded System and Software: Intelligent Circuits  and  Systems;  Molecular Electronics;  Molecular Computing;  Circuits and Networks inspired from Biology;  Micro - circuits;  Filter design; Micro-electromechanical Systems; Human-Machine Systems; Multidimensional Circuits and Systems; Consumer Electronics; Circuits in Power Technology; Electron Devices for Video Technology; Capacitor/Current Techniques; Prototype Devices and Measurement; Circuits and Systems for Control and Robotics;  Electron Devices  for  Power Technology;  High Voltages  and  Electric Machines;  Device Physics;  Physical Design;  High-Level Synthesis and Testing; Non - Linear Circuits;  Time-Frequency and Wavelet Applications; Modeling and Simulation;

Scientific Computing: Service Computing;  Intelligent Computing;  Cloud computing; Grid Computing; Internet computing; Mobile Computing; Wireless Computing;  Ubiquitous Computing; Peer - to - Peer Computing;  Finance & Economics Computing;  Computational biology  and  bioinformatics;  DNA computing;  Service Computing;  Affective Computing;  Distributed  Computing;  Parallel Computing;  Computational  Geometry;  Computational Methods; Computer Algorithm;  Evolutionary Algorithms;  Theoretical  Computer;  Quantum computing;  Symbolic  computation; Algebraic  theory of computing  and  Formal systems;  Approximation and Randomized algorithms;  Numerical software; Classical numerical analysis; Numerical statistics; Graph theory; High-Performance Computing;

Information for Authors

David Publishing Company is strived to provide the best platform for researchers and scholars worldwide to exchange their latest findings and results. We admire your achievements, and we understand how important your research impact to other peers in the same interest field and other disciplines, and how delighted you would be when communicating with global professional peers. Your contribution to our journals would be greatly appreciated!

Requirements:

1.         The manuscript should be original, and has not been published previously. Do not submit material that is currently being considered by another journal.
2.         Manuscripts may be 3000-8000 words or longer if approved by the editor, including an abstract, texts, tables, footnotes, appendixes, and references. The title should be on page 1 and not exceed 15 words, and should be followed by an abstract of 100 – 200 words.3-5 keywords or key phrases are required.
3.         The manuscript should be in MS Word format, submitted as an email attachment to our email address.
4.         Authors of the articles being accepted are required to sign the Transfer of Copyright Agreement form.
5.         Author will receive 2copies of the issue of the journal containing their article.

Peer review policy

The Journal of Communication and Computer is a refereed journal. All research articles in this journal undergo rigorous peer review, based on initial editor screening and anonymised refereeing by at least two anonymous referees.

Editorial Procedures

All papers considered appropriate for the journals are reviewed anonymously by at least two outside reviewers. The review process usually takes three to four weeks. Papers are accepted for publication subject to no substantive, stylistic editing. The Editor reserves the right to make any necessary changes in the papers, or request the author to do so, or reject the paper submitted. A copy of the edited paper along with the first proofs will be sent to the author for proofreading. They should be corrected and returned to the Editor within seven days. Once the final version of the paper has been accepted, authors are requested not to make further changes to the text.

Submission of Manuscript
All manuscripts submitted will be considered for publication.

Manuscripts should be sent as an email attachment to: com58puter@hotmail.com; informatics@davidpublishing.org or informatics@davidpublishing.com

Should you have any questions or concerns feel free to contact us (informatics@davidpublishing.com).

Jeffrey Beall is a librarian who has worked to bring the idea of predatory journals into the public arena. He noticed that there were many publications where the publisher was charging submission costs, taking rights away from authors and never actually publishing the submitted article.

He has worked to create a list of publishers and publications that he has decided deserve the label "predatory." He has not always been seen as right with his decisions but the resource he has created can help you decide what you would like to do when you are considering submitting an article.

Here is his criteria:

For more information about Predatory Journals

Some publishers have challenged Beall and his lists and not all the previous example emails given here are necessarily "predatory".

It is good, though, to think about why you want to submit to a particular publisher, especially one that needs to send out soliciting emails.

There are a lot of journals out there that never need to ask for article submissions and they keep on publishing!

Lucy Lee created this powerpoint pdf which covers open access publishing, predatory journals and more.

The first two emails look like they are legitimate and then last two are not. However, I have concerns about all of them. 

With the first email, I don't like how I have to create an account just to see anything on the site. I am not saying that sole intention of this particular site is to gather a mailing list but it is what they are doing. They could then show marketers how many people use their site and use this to generate income or to sell the site on. I just don't feel right about it.

The second email sets my alarm bells off because they have not renewed the copyright of their site. This shows a vulnerability to me. They may have their domain name hijacked because if they are not renewing their copyright maybe they are forgetting about guarding their domain name as well. 

The third email is a perfect example of a hijacked legitimate journal.

And the fourth one is a predatory journal.

Personally I would not submit to anyone who emails me. There are a lot of ways to research journals and see which ones you want to submit to. Be proactive with your choice of who you want to publish with.

One last thing, if you do a search for your journal title/publisher + wiki, you will usually get a wikipedia entry that tells you if the journal is a predatory one. E.g. wulfenia + wiki or david publisher + wiki