Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AH 101, Art and Culture in the West to 1400 (Jill Bain): Journal Articles

Search UFV databases at once

Discover articles, books, videos, images, statistics, and more from the Library's print and online collections

Limit Your Results (optional)
~ OR ~

Using the Find It Search Box

JSTOR

JSTOR Logo
Search for scholarly journal articles in all subjects, with strength in the Humanities. Full text is available. Coverage starts with Vol. 1, No. 1 of all titles, and goes up to 3 to 5 years ago.

Visual Arts Databases

Research databases

Quick Video Tutorials

Finding Journal Articles

Your AH 101 research should include journal articles from scholarly journals. How can you find these articles? JSTOR is a good starting place, as well as the search boxes provided on this page. The short video tutorials on the right will give you some searching tips.

Tips for Searching

  1. Start with one or two keywords describing your topic.
  2. Use the limiting options within the database to focus (i.e., refine) your results:
    • academic/peer-reviewed journals
    • date of publication (you might want more recent articles for some topics)
  3. Look for subjects (aka descriptors) that can help you define your topic more narrowly.
  4. Once you determine an angle or perspective you'd like to explore, try adding additional terms to your search.
  5. Look for a "full text" link to view the article; if no full text link is available, try "Full Text Finder" to locate a copy of the article.EBSCOhost Toolbar
    • If no copy of the article is available online or in print, you can still request a copy from another library; there is no fee for this service, and articles take about 3 days (often fewer) to arrive.
  6. Use the tools within the databases to mark, email, and print your articles:
    • You may be able to email the entire article to yourself, or at least the article information and abstract.
    • You may also be able to send yourself an MLA-formatting reference.
    • Articles in PDF format will have page numbers; articles in HTML format might not.

JSTOR Tutorial : Selecting Search Terms / Putting Terms Together

JSTOR Tutorial : Assessing Search Results

JSTOR Tutorial : Build on Good Sources

© University of the Fraser Valley,
33844 King Road, Abbotsford, B.C., Canada V2S 7M8