LibGuides UFV: Aviation: Links

Evaluating Sources

Although librarians have carefully compiled these sources, there is no substitute for your own evaluation. Use the following guides to help you.

CARS Evaluation Checklist
CARS = Credibility, Accuracy, Reasonableness, and Support
The CRAAP Test
CRAAP = Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose
Critical Evaluation of Information Sources
Questions to ask, and where to find the answers when evaluating sources

Aerospace Industries Association of Canada
Airlines for America
Includes data, statistics, and a full text publication titled Airline Handbook
Canadian Owners and Pilots Association
International Air Transport Association
The global association for air carriers that fly between countries.
International Civil Aviation Organization
Includes a link to the ICAO Journal (look under information resources>publications>ICAO journal).

World Airport Codes
Three Letter Airport Codes
Aviation Reports
Specific investigations into the causes of air transportation accidents in Canada. Includes analysis of equipment or pilot failure.
Civil Aviation Authority (U.K.)
National Transportation Library
Transportation-related information from the U.S. government. Includes digitized documents.

AVCanada
Current aviation job postings, aircraft ads, and web links.
AVWeb
Current news and articles (U.S. focus), including links to many aviation sites, under Resources

Designated Airspace Handbook
From NAV Canada; provides digital access to the Designated Airspace Handbook.
Canadian Civil Aviation Reference Centre
Civil Aviation Medicine (CAM)
The primary activity of CAM is the performance of medical assessments required for the certification of Licensed Aviation Personnel. Approximately 55,000 medical examinations are conducted annually by over 950 designated Civil Aviation Medical Examiners across Canada and overseas.
Nav Canada
Canadian air navigation services, and weather information (in flight planning section).
Transport Canada
Provides much information, on topics such as: aviation regulations, including many statistics and publications.
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Includes air investigation reports, aviation occurrence reports, press releases.

Google Patents Database
Search more than 7 million patents offered by the U.S. Patent Office.