LibGuides UFV: Biology: Links

Evaluating Sources

Although librarians have carefully compiled these sources, there is no substitute for your own evaluation. Use the following guides to help you.

CARS Evaluation Checklist
CARS = Credibility, Accuracy, Reasonableness, and Support
The CRAAP Test
CRAAP = Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose
Critical Evaluation of Information Sources
Questions to ask, and where to find the answers when evaluating sources

Encyclopedia of Life
A free online collaborative encyclopedia intended to document all of the 1.9 million living species known to science. It is compiled from existing databases and from contributions by experts and non-experts throughout the world.
Index to Organism Names
Index to Organism Names contains the organism names related data gathered from the scientific literature for Thomson Reuters' Zoological Record database.
Tree of Life
Provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history, with an extensive list of references
U.S. Department of Agriculture Plants Database
World Wildlife Federation: Habitat
Help protect threatened species and their habitats. [From Website]
Global Invasive Species Database
Macaulay Library
From Cornel University. Video and audio footage archive of birds, fish, mammals and more. Use the animal's common name and search box at the right hand corner.

As Many Exceptions AS Rules
Posted weekly, each story includes pertinent vocabulary with etymology, interesting questions to spark discussion, links to the reports from the latest research on the subject being discussed, and a list of online resources for more information and classroom activities.