Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Primary Sources
Primary sources are original sources that first report on research or an idea. In other words, they are documents or records that contain firsthand reports or original data on a topic. Examples of primary sources include:
- research reports
- scholarly journal articles
- conference proceedings
- original manuscripts
- film footage
- sheet music
Need help? Ask us!
UFV libraries are OPEN
and ready to serve you for the Fall 2021 semester.
Primary Sources - British Columbia
B.C. Historical Newspapers
The BC Historical Newspapers project features digitized versions of 24 historical papers from around the province. The titles, which range from the Abbotsford Post to the Phoenix Pioneer, date from 1865 to 1924.
The colonial despatches of Vancouver Island and British Columbia 1846-1871
This digital archive contains the original correspondence between the British Colonial Office and the colonies of Vancouver Island and British Columbia.
Digitized Okanagan History
This online resource houses a collection of digitized historical photographs and textual documents, including city meeting minutes and organization member lists from museums and archives in the Okanagan region.
Multicultural Canada Project
First-hand accounts of first generation immigrants
Primary Sources: Definition and Resources
This SFU site provides information about Primary Documents in History and the Humanities.
SFU Library Editorial Cartoons Collection
"Over 3500 original drawings by Len Norris, Roy Peterson, Graham Harrop, Bob Krieger, Dan Murphy, Bob Bierman, Ingrid Rice, and Edd Uluschak published in Canadian newspapers between 1952 and the present."
Tacoma Public Library Northwest Room
Highlights include a Ships and Shipping Database with descriptions of more than 13,000 ships either built on the Pacific Coast or with a connection to the Pacific Northwest.
Vancouver Public Library Local History Collections
Vancouver Public Library has a comprehensive collection of materials to help with local history research. Much of this material can be found in Special Collections at Central Library and well as online through Digital Local History Resources
Digitized historic records about the history of Vancouver Island. The Vancouver Island portions of the 1881 and 1891 censuses are available for searching, along with various statutes and municipal bylaws, as well as a small selection of maps.
Primary Sources - Canada
Pursuit of Adventure: The Fur Trade in Canada and the North West Company
From McGill U. Maps, letters (includes transcription of text) and other digital replications of fur trade history.
Repertory of Online Collections of Primary Sources: Specific Topics in Canadian History
Gateway to a variety of primary and secondary source collections focusing on significant events, time periods and topics in Canadian history: maps, photographs, diaries, letters, paintings, posters, newspapers, political cartoons, official documents, oral history, film, audio interviews and recordings, monographs.