"Government documents and records; private historical manuscripts and papers; maps, charts and architectural plans; photographs; paintings, drawings and prints; audio and video tapes; film; newspapers; and an extensive library of publications with a strong emphasis on the social and political history of British Columbia and the Pacific Northwest."
The BCHF encourages interest in the history of British Columbia through research, presentation, and support. Access to the Federation's publications is available from this website.
Holds a variety of research materials including photographs, sound recordings, maps, books and written materials from families, individuals, churches, businesses, governments and community organizations.
"an interactive exhibit showing the home addresses of people from Chilliwack who died in the Great War and in the Second World War. The maps show the addresses of the men, or their families, before they left for Europe. "
Online collaboration between the City of Burnaby's Community Heritage Commission and a civic partnership representing the Heritage Planning Program, the City Archives, Burnaby Village Museum and Burnaby Public Library. The site provides access to all of the City's community heritage assets, heritage services and historic collections.
Collections include family histories, individual histories, historical photographs, oral histories, Mennonite Church and bible school files as well as other genealogical holdings
"Serves as a repository for all community records that document the social, economic, and political development of the District of Mission and the Fraser Valley Regional District Electoral Areas: I (Dewdney-Hatzic Island), J (Nicomen Island-Deroche), K (Lake Errock), and L (McConnel Creek-Hatzic Prairie)."
Archival holdings related to the history of Abbotsford, including maps, microform copies of the ASM/Abbotsford News December (1922 to present), and print copies of the Abbotsford Post (1910 – 1924). A Photo Archives database of local historical images is searchable by place, year, topic, and subject.
Records of the City of Richmond's Municipal government. Virtual exhibits include the history of Richmond's schools, a recent conservation project, the history of Richmond seen through the eyes of a high school student in 1923, an early account of the history of Lulu Island written by Thomas Kidd, and the Barker Letterbooks, outgoing correspondence (1905-1919) of the General Manager of British Columbia Packers Limited.
Holdings include: City of Vancouver government records (public records), records of non-government organizations, businesses and individuals (private records), visual records including historic photographs, maps, etc.
Bibliography of all publications about the history of communities and other localities in British Columbia including locations and copies of indexes by name, title and place hosted by UBC. From the select collection drop down menu, choose "BC Local Histories Bib", and search by title, author or subject heading.
Video and audio conversations with Veterans from the wars of the 20th century as well as information on geographic locations, battles and campaigns from these conflicts.
Access to government documents, newspaper articles and a variety of other texts to tell the story of the Komagata Maru. Permitted Uses for this Database
Videos: This interview is made available under a Creative Commons license. You can download the interview and share it with others provided you acknowledge the source as the SFU Library. You cannot change or alter the interview in any way, or use it for commercial purposes.
Audio: Permission to use material from this item for purposes other than those granted in the Canadian Copyright Act must be obtained in writing from the copyright holder. Preauthorized permission is granted to educational institutions, teachers, and students to reproduce, perform, publish, exhibit, crop, reverse, translate, archive the material for noncommercial purposes. Multicultural Canada Rights and Permissions.
Images: The images have individual rights messages for each one. To use an image, you must consult the rights link on the image webpage.
