Journal articles can be useful sources of information for almost any subject area. They contain current information or research, and are usually written on specific aspects of a topic.
Use research databases to search for articles on a specific topic. Databases can be accessed from off campus by current UFV students and employees.
Search the following databases: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, SPORTDiscus, SocINDEX and CINAHL.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Critical reviews of the most significant primary research published in psychology in the past year.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Abstracts,indexing and full text articles from key publications in the Social Sciences.
Coverage: 1984 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
UFV has access to more than 60,000 journal, magazine, and newspaper titles online, and about 500 current titles in print.
You can request articles from journals not held by UFV through interlibrary loan. Request forms can be accessed from the library's web site, or through the Full Text Finder link in the library's research databases. Articles generally arrive within 2-5 business days; books may take a little longer.
Not all journals are created equal, and not all will be appropriate for every research need. These are the most common types of journals you are likely to encounter in your research, presented in order from most to least academic or scholarly: