LibGuides UFV: Historical Geography: Journals

Search Ebsco* History Database

Search historical geography using Ebsco:

Databases being searched:

America: History and Life
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Academic Search Complete

Search JSTOR

UFV Journals

UFV has access to more than 60,000 journal, magazine, and newspaper titles online, and about 500 current titles in print.

Geography & Cartography Journals
History Journals
UFV Journals List
List of all print and electronic journals available at UFV; search for a specific journal title or browse by subject.

Journals beyond UFV

You can request articles from journals not held by UFV through interlibrary loan. Request forms can be accessed from the library's web site, or through the Full Text Finder link in the library's research databases. Articles generally arrive within 2-5 business days; books may take a little longer.

Interlibrary Loans
More information on requesting materials from other libraries.
Full Text Finder

Types of Journals

Not all journals are created equal, and not all will be appropriate for every research need. These are the most common types of journals you are likely to encounter in your research, presented in order from most to least academic or scholarly:

Scholarly Journals: reports of original research, theoretical, experimental or applied; many are refereed/peer-reviewed
Trade/Professional Journals: current trends, news & events in a particular field; some are peer-reviewed
Journals of Commentary or Opinion: commentary on political & social issues; often source of specific political viewpoint, e.g., conservative, liberal, or specific interest group
Newspapers: current information, news stories; local & regional focus
Popular Magazines: current events & news; primary source for popular culture

Types of Periodicals

Research Databases: Best Bets

GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
GSW provides access to scientifically peer-reviewed full text articles from 37 high impact geoscience publications. Coverage includes geology, paleontology, seismology, oceanography, etc.; International focus.
Permitted Uses for this Database
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Spanning the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present, and contains selective indexing for a substantial number of journals.
Coverage: 1954 to present.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of full text scholarly journals and books across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Browse images to find ArtSTOR collections. 3 to 5 year embargo is common.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive indexing of key scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Provides forward tracking of citations. You do not need to sign in or register. If you are on campus, just click on the Web of Science icon and you can start your search. If you are off campus, scroll down to the login by institution option and choose OpenAthens Federation.
Help guide
Permitted Uses for this Database

Research Databases: Also Try...

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Academic search complete assists researchers in the general exploration of all academic fields. Recent publications in journals, magazines and newspapers will help researchers better understand broad topic areas. Peer-reviewed academic articles help users with research papers, group assignments and keyword and subject area development.
American Meteorological Society (AMS) Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and full text articles from peer-reviewed academic journals covering atmospheric, oceanic, and related sciences.
Coverage: 3 years embargo.
Permitted Uses for this Database
BC Stats This link opens in a new window
BC Stats is the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia with a BC focus on demographics and socio-economic conditions.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Census Analyzer This link opens in a new window
Canadian census data is provided with the CHASS interface. Custom tables may be created combining geographic and census variables.
Permitted Uses for this Database
CANSIM This link opens in a new window
CANSIM is Statistics Canada's database of time series covering a wide variety of social and economic aspects of Canadian life. Hundreds of surveys are included, in addition to the Census, and results are published in thousands of tables.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Academic encyclopedias covering business, environment, history, law, medicine, religion, science, and social science. Includes an online dictionary.
Permitted Uses for this Database
National Research Council Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text access to 15 Canadian science journals from the NRC (National Research Council), with subject coverage in botany, zoology, biology, earth sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, physiology and more. Canadian focus.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE; coverage includes criminology, health sciences, business, history, sociology, and psychology. U.S. focus.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of Sage handbooks and encyclopedias, providing detailed, authoritative background information in the social sciences.
Permitted Uses for this Database
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on science, technology, medicine, with some coverage of social sciences and humanities. UFV subscribes to journal content only, not books and reference works. Coverage: 1995 to present. If you see a "site can't be reached message", change browser to Firefox.

Permitted Uses for this Database
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and related social sciences disciplines.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Social Sciences Abstracts (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts,indexing and full text articles from key publications in the Social Sciences.
Coverage: 1984 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full text for scholarly journals and books in science (biology, chemistry, physics, life sciences, geology), medicine, mathematics and statistics, business, computing science, and the humanities and social sciences.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Over 1500 full text scholarly journals, encompassing life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Also includes dictionaries, handbooks and companions in the social sciences and humanities.
Coverage: 1997 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database