Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UFV Library Supports for Open Access Publishing
The Canadian Research Knowledge Network (CRKN) has negotiated a number of Article Processing Charge (APC) publisher discounts on behalf of its member institutions. UFV-affiliated authors are eligible for APC discounts from the following publishers:
- American Chemical Society
- Cambridge University Press
- Canadian Science Publishing
- Taylor & Francis
Certain journals are excluded. For more information on how to use these discounts, see
SAGE Transformative Agreement - authors affiliated with UFV may now publish their articles as open access with no APCs in over 900 Sage Choice Journals. In addition, the agreement includes a 40% discount on APCs in SAGE’s Gold Open Access Journals.
UFV Open Access Journals
UFV has access to more than 60,000 journal, magazine, and newspaper titles online, and hundreds of these are actually Open Access journals. Currently there is no technical filter for our journals list that will produce a complete list of the OA titles to which we provide access, but try the following to find groups of journals by OA publishers:
- On the Library homepage, click on Journals (A-Z)
- Change journal title to association
- Change starting with to all
- Enter open access as your search terms
You will now have a list of various publishers (associations and organizations) that provide access to OA journals. Click on the links for their journal lists.
Open Access Research Databases at UFV
Here is a list of selected UFV research databases offering open access journal content:
Prominent Open Access Publishers & Directories
There are many open access journal publishers and directories, but here is a list of some of the most prominent -these may also be included in the UFV Library's list of databases:
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Probably the most comprehensive listing of all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system for their content.
BioMed Central is a Science, Technology and Medicine(STM) publisher of 256 peer-reviewed open access journals, and articles are licensed with a Creative Commons CC-BY license.
PLoS: Public Library of Science This link opens in a new window
PLOS publishes seven peer-reviewed open-access, peer-reviewed, scientific and medical journals that include original research as well as timely feature articles.
Green & Gold Open Access: What's the difference?
Open Access article publishing comes in two "flavours":
1. Gold: The author publishes in an open access journal, and is sometimes required to pay a fee depending on the business model of the publisher or journal.
2. Green: The author freely deposits the article (or a version thereof) in a open digital repository, such as an institutional and/or subject repository, or makes it available on a personal or departmental website.
The colour descriptions should not be equated with qualitative differences between the types. The terms "Gold" and "Green" reflect the distinctions in how a work is made openly accessible.
Deciding Where to Publish
In which journal should I publish? How do I avoid predatory journals? How can I find suitable Open Access options? Here are a few decision-making tools to help you answer these questions:
Elsevier Journal Finder
Matches your article to other Elsevier journals that could be best suited for publishing your scientific article. You can choose to limit to only Elsevier's Open Access journals. Your publication choice will have no effect on the peer review process or acceptance of the submitted article.
Journal Author Name Estimator (JANE)
Enter title and/or abstract, and JANE compares your document to millions of documents in Medline to find the best matching journals, authors or articles. OA journals are indicated in the search results.
Searchable database of publishers' policies on self-archiving of journal articles on the web and in Open Access repositories. Helps clarify what you can or cannot do with pre-print and/or post-print copies of articles you have published or plan to publish.
A funders & authors' compliance tool to check compliance with funders' requirements for open access to research.
Searchable database of research funders' open access policies. Acts as a complement to the RoMEO and FACT tools also offered by SHERPA.
Measuring Scholarly Impact
Developing novel methods for evaluating traditional impact factors and for mapping the structure of academic research.
Eigenfactor: Cost Effectiveness of OA Journals
Visual tool for assessing the cost effectiveness of fee-based, non-fee, and NSI OA journals. The graph plots the prestige (Article Influence score) and publication charges for journals/publishers in all or selected disciplines.
An open-source, web-based tool that helps researchers explore and share the diverse impacts of all their research products: journal articles, blog posts, datasets, and software.
An emerging altrmetrics tool owed by EBSCO that measures scholarly impact of numerous research products (articles, blog posts, theses, and more) according to five different metric types.
Measures the impact of specific articles, rather than the journal as a whole.
PLOS Article Level Metrics
A suite of established metrics that measure the overall performance and reach of published research articles.