Open Access Publishing: Open Data

The main goal of CivicInfo BC is to facilitate the free and open exchange of local government information. See the "Surveys and Statistics" tab.

(Spatial data available by request.)

Search by category or keyword. Learn about Open Data, explore datasets, visualize datasets, suggest a dataset, etc.

Started in 2009, this collection of data is continually growing and includes information on bike lanes to sewer mains.

Updated weekly, there are over 170 free diverse datasets.

Geographic and data files related to Victoria.

From building permit and business licence searches, to geographic information in NanaimoMap and Google Earth, through to fire incident reporting and more.

Designed to increase the availability of Digital Data Sets produced by the Regional District of North Okanagan to outside users. The Digital Data will be provided in AutoCAD 2012 (DWG) format, as well as ESRI ArcMap10 (SHP) format.

As part of the City’s open data approach, the initial focus will be on its Geographical Information System (GIS) data, used to build our PGMap application.

An integrated map of Canada’s provincial and municipal Open Data sites that have been created to release freely available open data in Canada.

This page provides links to City of Regina tools and services that are aimed at making information more readily available to the public.

A web-based measurement and visualization tool that helps evaluate community wellbeing across Toronto's 140 neighbourhoods. Using geographic information software, it allows one to select, combine and weight the significance of a number of indicators that monitor neighbourhood wellness.

Includes data sets from various business units and departments. These data sets are available in multiple file formats and any anyone can download the data sets at no charge.

The portal makes data the provincial government collects on behalf of citizens publicly available in machine readable formats with an open licence.

Government portal.

Citizen led.

Designed to increase the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the US Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.

Brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point

This Open Data initiative makes the following datasets open and free: World Develpment Indicators, Global Development Finance, Africa Development Indicators, and Global Economic Monitor. Also includes databases on education, gender, business, etc.

A non-profit venture promoting sustainable global development and achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals.

An initiative of Harvard University, Dataverse is an archival repository for research data, including the world's largest collection of social science research data. Researchers share, keep control of, and get recognition for their data.