Canadian Government Information

CARS = Credibility, Accuracy, Reasonableness, and Support

CRAAP = Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose

Questions to ask, and where to find the answers when evaluating sources

Ecosystems status and environmental indicators.

Weather and environmental information

Reports, policies, information on fisheries management, statistics and more.

Organized in 5 sectors: Energy, Earth Sciences, Minerals and Metals, and Canadian Forests.

Links to Canadian culture, heritage, sports and recreation.

Gateway to the federal government departments, agencies and programs.

A series of publications and databases containing information about the Government of Canada, its organization and its information holdings.

Information about Parliament, the Senate and Cabinet, Committee business and minutes, Chamber business including the debates and bills

The Association of Parliamentary Libraries in Canada Portal provides access to the government publications and select legislative materials found in Canadian legislative and parliamentary libraries.

The Canadian National Catalogue. Access to the published materials held at the Library and Archives Canada (LAC) as well as those located in over 1300 libraries across Canada. Over 25 million bibliographic records describing books, magazines, government documents, theses, sound recordings, maps, etc.

Provides access to scanned commissions from 1872-1980 and catalog access to pdfs of commissions from 1980 onwards.

Commissions of Inquiry are established by the Governor in Council (Cabinet) to fully and impartially investigate issues of national importance. Led by distinguished individuals, experts or judges, Commissions of Inquiry have the power to subpoena witnesses, take evidence under oath and request documents. A Commission of Inquiry's findings and recommendations are not binding. However, many have a significant impact on public opinion and the shape of public policy. [From Website]

The Library of Parliament offers a wide range of research publications that provide analysis to parliamentarians, parliamentary committees and parliamentary associations on current and emerging key issues, legislation and major public policy topics. The publications provide non-partisan, reliable and timely information on subjects that are relevant to parliamentary and constituency work.

Includes all debates from Parliament 1, Session 1 (1867) until coverage on parl.gc.ca begins with 1994.

Covers 1867 forward.

A free searchable database of digitised versions of the debates , journals, and committee documentation of the Senate and the House of Commons.

From the Canadian Government. Overviews of the labour market and general economic trends; detailed information on all occupational groups and post-secondary fields of study; current and future labour market conditions; and prospects for finding work in the Canadian workforce.

The NOC is the standard method of classifying occupations in Canada. It organizes over 40,000 job titles into 500 occupational group descriptions. Information provided includes related job titles, main duties, employment requirements, and related information.