LibGuides UFV: Climate Migration: Databases

Subject Headings

Try using the following "subject headings" when searching for books and articles on topics related to climate justice.

Forced migration
Forced migration -- Environmental aspects
Climactic changes -- Social aspects
Climactic changes -- Risk assessment
Climactic changes -- Effect of human beings on
Climactic changes -- Law and legislation
Climactic changes -- Economic aspects
Emigration and immigration -- Social aspects
Emigration and immigration – Environmental aspects
Affordable housing
Asylum seeker
Climate change
Climate change adaptation
Environmental migrant
Environmental justice
Environmental refugees
Human migration
Human beings -- Effect of climate on
Migration, Internal -- Environmental aspects
Global environmental change -- Social aspects
Effects of global warming
Economics of global warming

Databases by Title

American Meteorological Society (AMS) Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and full text articles from peer-reviewed academic journals covering atmospheric, oceanic, and related sciences.
Coverage: 3 years embargo.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Browse by topic, issue, case study, or map for environmental issues around the globe. Multimedia resources as well as academic journals and government publications.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Global issues with international viewpoints. Mixture of journals articles, news articles, videos, statistics and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database
GreenFILE (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Human impact to the environment, including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Coverage: 1969 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of full text scholarly journals and books across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Browse images to find ArtSTOR collections. 3 to 5 year embargo is common.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE; coverage includes criminology, health sciences, business, history, sociology, and psychology. U.S. focus.
Permitted Uses for this Database
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and related social sciences disciplines.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Sociology Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A collection of index and full text databases for sociology and the social sciences, including Sociological Abstracts.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Databases searched include:
- Sociological Abstracts
- Social Services Abstracts
- Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
- Sociology Database (includes core sociology journals in full text)

Migration Data Portal
The Portal aims to serve as a unique access point to timely, comprehensive migration statistics and reliable information about migration data globally. Available for free online.

Tips for Searching

Start with one or two keywords describing your topic.
Use the limiting options within the database to focus (i.e., refine) your results:
- academic/peer-reviewed journals
- date of publication (you might want more recent articles for some topics)
Look for subjects (aka descriptors) that can help you define your topic more narrowly.
Once you determine an angle or perspective you'd like to explore, try adding additional terms to your search.
Look for a "full text" link to view the article; if no full text link is available, try "Full Text Finder" to locate a copy of the article.
- If no copy of the article is available online or in print, you can still request a copy from another library; there is no fee for this service, and articles take about 3 days (often fewer) to arrive.
Use the tools within the databases to mark, email, and print your articles:
- You may be able to email the entire article to yourself, or at least the article information and abstract.
- You may also be able to send yourself an MLA-formatting reference.
- Articles in PDF format will have page numbers; articles in HTML format might not.