Skip to Main Content

EDUC 702, Leading and Mentoring Across Professional Learning Communities: Compiling an Annotated Bibliography

This guide supports Education 702, Leading and Mentoring Across Professional Learning Communities taught by Dr. Awneet Sivia and Mr. Ian Levings, Winter 2020

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

  • An annotated bibliography is an alphabetical list of citations, with a summary provided for each item.
  • These items are usually selected for a particular topic and typically consist of books, journal articles, and other research materials.
  • Each summary is generally brief, maybe one or two paragraphs, and can be either descriptive or evaluative.
  • A descriptive summary tells you what the item is about. An evaluative summary goes further and assesses the value or importance of the item.
  • Annotated bibliographies are written using a citation style that's appropriate for the research topic. There are many citation styles; the most commonly used ones are APA, MLA and Chicago.

For more detailed information, check out Cornell university library's guide on annotated bibliography:

Finding Books on Communication and Leadership

Click on the following subject headings to browse the library's book collection on the topics of communication and leadership:

Search for books, e-books, and videos
    Author    

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

Looking for Journal Articles

Here is a list of research databases that will work best for searching. Remember that each database will give you different results, so try each one.

When doing a database search, start with your own keywords. Once you find an article that matches your criteria, take a look at the subject terms used in the database and redo your search using those keywords. The following list of keywords may help you get started:

  • Case studies
  • Cooperation
  • Collaboration
  • Distributed leadership
  • Educational change
  • Interpersonal skills
  • Leadership
  • Participative decision making
  • Protocol analysis
  • Reforms
  • Resistance to change

If you are looking for empirical studies, try adding one or more specific terms to your main search. For example:
“Student centered leadership” + “questionnaires”
Below are some of the key terms that may help you retrieve articles that are based on empirical research. Once you find an article that fits your criteria, make a note of the subject terms used in the database and redo your search using those keywords.

  • Case studies
  • Data analysis
  • Evidence based practice
  • Interviews
  • Semi-structured interviews
  • Statistical analysis
  • Surveys
  • Qualitative research
  • Questionnaires
  • Research methodology

You’ll find that many empirical studies will report on individual anecdotes or describe how personal identity affects teaching and leadership practice. Used in addition to your key search terms, the following keywords may help you find identity-focused and anecdotal narratives:

  • Administrator attitudes
  • Beliefs
  • Interpersonal relationships
  • Personal attitude
  • Perception
  • Professional identity
  • Social attitudes
  • Student attitudes
  • Teacher attitudes
  • Teacher identity

Need help? Ask us!

Chat loading...
The University of the Fraser Valley is situated on the traditional territory of the Stó:lō peoples. The Stó:lō have an intrinsic relationship with what they refer to as S’olh Temexw (Our Sacred Land), therefore we express our gratitude and respect for the honour of living and working in this territory.

© , University of the Fraser Valley, 33844 King Road, Abbotsford, B.C., Canada V2S 7M8