Building and Fire Research Portal
Part of the Engineering Laboratory of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, this resource for fire protection engineers, scientists, and fire service personnel includes a 50,000 document collection accessible through FIREDOC, a free online bibliographic database. Fire on the Web is a collection of resources from the Building and Fire Research Laboratory's Fire Research Division at NIST.
DOAJ - DIrectory of Open Access Journals
This database provides access to thousands of free, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals from academic, government, commercial and non-profit organizations.
Provides abstracts and full-text for over 32,000 recent journal articles, updated quarterly. Many articles are available freely available online. Compiled by the Library of the New York State Academy of Fire Science and available via the JIBC Library.
Fire Research and Management Exchange System (FRAMES)
FRAMES subject area portals contain information relevant to topics of interest within the wildland fire community. Currently, FRAMES identifies 26 subject areas reflecting categories proposed by wildland fire researchers and as part of a draft of the National Wildland Fire Enterprise Architecture developed by the National Wildand Fire Coordinating Group (NWCG). The goal of FRAMES is to have the subject areas be collaborative spaces, managed by experts in the subject area for other content providers and content users. Most subject area portals remain in the prototype phase, however, efforts are ongoing to encourage experts to assume the role of community manager for each subject area portal.
International Association of Fire Safety Science
Consolidates and searches many relevant fire science publication databases.
The LRC is the library for the National Fire Academy (NFA) and the Emergency Management Institute (EMI). The LRC Catalog identifies resources on fire service and emergency. They provide detailed subject guides with bibliographies of articles, although most articles are not open access.
National Institute of Safety and Technology (NIST)
Searchable database of reports on fire safety, building and fire codes, fire protection technologies and more..
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
USFA (US Fire Administration) Publications
A huge collection of freely available publications on topics ranging from Arson and Hazardous Materials to Incident Management and Research & Technology. Search their collection or browse by subject.
US Fire Administration Library Subject Guides
Lists of important articles organized by subject area and compiled by USFA Librarians. Subjects range from Active Shooter Incidents and Emergency Management Doctrine to Fire Service History and World Trade Centre 9/11.