LibGuides UFV: Homeless in the Fraser Valley: Databases & More

Databases

Overview and Links
Search Strategies

Databases are collections of different types of sources (usually digital) such as:

Books,
Videos,
Academic articles,
News & magazine articles, etc.

Here are a few relevant databases when looking for information related to Homelessness:

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central combines over 140,000 subscription e-book titles, as well as thousands of purchased titles.Unlimited access for most titles. There is a small collection of titles that UFV has purchased, usually limited to 1 concurrent user.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Social Sciences Abstracts (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts,indexing and full text articles from key publications in the Social Sciences.
Coverage: 1984 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Citations to current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Social Work Abstracts (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 900 social work and human services journals.
Simultaneous Users: 5 - 8 users.
Permitted Uses for this Database
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and related social sciences disciplines.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Permitted Uses for this Database

For more information on types of sources (including scholarly articles), please review our Evaluating Sources LibGuide (link below).

Evaluating Sources UFV LibGuide
Use this guide to learn what the difference is between a popular and a scholarly article, how to spot fake news, and what the filter bubble effect is.

The following strategies can be useful to help you search for and choose an academic/scholarly research article:

1. Analyze your topic statement for search terms

Change any question into a statement.
Identify the important ideas or concepts within your topic statement--these are usually nouns (or short phrases containing a noun)
Nouns make the best search words, so turn any important verbs into nouns first

2. Connect different concepts with "AND"; connect similar (or synonymous) concepts with "OR" You also need to use quotation marks to search complete phrases.

e.g. Homelessness AND Canada

e.g. Homelessness OR homeless persons

e.g. "Supportive housing"

3. Use limiters (options on the left or right side of the search results) to narrow your results list such as publication dates, peer-reviewed, and full text.

4. Be sure to read the abstracts - they will often reveal enough "clues" to tell you if the article is relevant or not.

5. If you do not find articles that interest you, look at your results. See if there are new words or new search terms that you can use that will help you improve your search.

How do I choose good keywords - UofT
For more information and examples about developing keywords check out the University of Toronto's FAQ.

Selected Journals

Finding Journal Articles in UFV Library

More how-to videos are available on our YouTube Channel:

UFV Library's YouTube Channel

https://pixabay.com/service/license/

Selected Library Resources

Bathrooms as a Homeless Rights Issue
The Article explores the current paradox where cities, counties, and states provide few, if any, public bathrooms for the homeless community and the public at large while criminalizing public urination and defecation.
Beyond the Homelessness, Crisis Accommodation, Poverty and Child Protection Cycle: Supportive housing for families with children and young people
This paper explores the national and international evidence for good practice in housing and support responses to families at risk of or experiencing homelessness, DFV and statutory child protection intervention using a critical literature review methodology and critical social work frameworks.
Delivering collaborative mental health care within supportive housing: implementation evaluation of a community-hospital partnership
This study evaluates the implementation of a shifted outpatient collaborative care initiative in which a psychiatrist was added to existing housing, community mental health, and primary care supports in a women-centered supportive housing complex in Toronto, Canada.
An examination of the shelter industry in Canada & the efficacy of program delivery as it impacts client outcomes [electronic resource] : a report of findings from Angels of the Road : 16 months of living with Canada's homeless
This observer/participant study involved almost two years of information gathering which was done from May 2009 - October 2011.
Investigating the impacts of COVID-19 among LGBTQ2S youth experiencing homelessness
This study aimed to understand the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic on LGBTQ2S youth at risk of, and experiencing, homelessness in the Greater Toronto Area, Ontario, Canada and surrounding areas.
Should the Homeless Be Forcibly Helped?
When are we morally obligated as a society to help the homeless, and is coercive interference justified when help is not asked for, even refused?