Skip to Main Content

Using OverDrive for Audiobooks

This guide will help you use our audiobook platform OverDrive.

Introduction

The UFV Library uses the OverDrive platform to provide access to audiobook content. Content can be accessed via the OverDrive database link or via the Libby app.  

To access OverDrive, click the database link below:

Locating OverDrive through the UFV Library

  1. Navigate to the 'Articles & Databases' page on the UFV Library website.

 

  1. Under 'Find a Research Database' select 'Browse all research databases'. Screenshot of U F V Library Articles and Databases page, with link to page and Browse all research databases link outlined in red boxes.

 

  1. Locate the OverDrive database in the A-Z listing of databases Screenshot of the A-Z listing of databases. Red square is around O and Overdrive result.

 

Checking out Audiobooks using OverDrive

  1. The OverDrive main screen highlights new AudioBooks in the UFV collection.

 

  1. Search for specific titles using the search bar on the top right of the screen or browse the collection by subject.Screenshot of U F V Newly added audiobooks page. Red squares are around the subject link and search bar.

 

  1. To borrow an item, click the green 'Borrow' button - users will need to sign in using their UFV credentials.  Users may borrow up to three audiobooks at one time.  

           Screenshot of U F V Sign in screen. Grey Back button and blue Next button are below the email field.

 

 

  1. To access your audiobook, click the green 'Listen now in browser' button, or download and listen in the Libby app.

        Screenshot of audiobook play screen, two-tone grey background with bell hooks book and cover image of author as a young woman is in the center of the screen.

 

  1. To review your account, click 'My account' on the top right and select 'Loans'. Screenshot of Loans page. My Account drop-down menu in upper right corner is open and the Loans link is surrounded by a red box.

 

  1.  The loan period for audiobooks is seven days.  You can return items early by accessing 'Loans' or 'Manage loans' within your account. In consideration of others, please return an audio book early if it is no longer needed.

         Return title screen, Green Return Title button, white Cancel button, X in upper righthand corner.

 

*Note - there is no ebook content available for UFV Library users in OverDrive

 

The University of the Fraser Valley is situated on the traditional territory of the Stó:lō peoples. The Stó:lō have an intrinsic relationship with what they refer to as S’olh Temexw (Our Sacred Land), therefore we express our gratitude and respect for the honour of living and working in this territory.

© , University of the Fraser Valley, 33844 King Road, Abbotsford, B.C., Canada V2S 7M8