LibGuides UFV: Science Café: Beer, Bread & Pickles: The Science of Fermentation

Library Resources: Beer, Bread & Pickles

BC Centre for Disease Control Fermented Foods Safety Guide
A national working group of health inspectors, food safety specialists, and industry fermentation experts worked together to create guidance on fermented foods.
Brewer's Gold
Chilliwack Museum Exhibit: Pioneers of American Hop Farming
Canadian Cheese Maker's Directory
This directory contains the names and addresses of Canadian cow, goat, sheep and buffalo milk cheese manufacturing companies. Cheesemakers are classified according to their federal or provincial operating licence.
Canadian Craft Brewer's Association
Promotes and protects the interests of over 1,200 small and independent Canadian craft breweries, brewpubs and their supplier partners. We are constituted as a federation of provincial craft brewers associations. Our brewery members are from every province and territory in Canada.
Government of Canada Fermented Milk Products
The Science of Brewing
Nick Fengler never dreamed of being a brewmaster when he first stepped through the doors of UFV.
UBC Wine & Fermentation Research Centre
The WRC’s research focuses on the chemistry, biochemistry, and microbiology of wine on understanding how spontaneous fermentations can contribute to the differentiation of terroir in the wine regions of British Columbia and Canada.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Academic search complete assists researchers in the general exploration of all academic fields. Recent publications in journals, magazines and newspapers will help researchers better understand broad topic areas. Peer-reviewed academic articles help users with research papers, group assignments and keyword and subject area development.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Citations to the core literature of biology, agriculture and food sciences, much of it from peer-reviewed journals with an international focus; it contains some full text.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive indexing of key scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Provides forward tracking of citations. You do not need to sign in or register. If you are on campus, just click on the Web of Science icon and you can start your search. If you are off campus, scroll down to the login by institution option and choose OpenAthens Federation.
Help guide
Permitted Uses for this Database