LibGuides UFV: THEA 204 / ENGL 234, Performance History II: 1600-1900 (Anna Griffith): Scenographic Innovations

Secondary Sources

Stagestruck: The Business of Theater in Eighteenth-Century France and Its Colonies
Call Number: E-book
This deeply researched book will appeal to historians of Europe and the Atlantic world, particularly those interested in the social and political impact of the consumer revolution and the forging of national and imperial cultural networks. In addition to theater and literary scholars, it will attract the attention of historians and sociologists who study business, labor history, and the emergence of the modern French state. [From Publisher]
The Routledge Companion to Scenography
Call Number: E-book
The Routledge Companion to Scenography is the largest and most comprehensive collection of original essays to survey the historical, conceptual, critical and theoretical aspects of this increasingly important aspect of theatre and performance studies. [From Publisher]
The Shakespearean Stage Space
Call Number: E-book
In The Shakespearean Stage Space, Mariko Ichikawa explores the original staging of plays by Shakespeare and his contemporaries to build a new picture of the artistry of the Renaissance stage. Dealing with problematic scenes and stage directions, Ichikawa closely examines the playing conditions in early modern playhouses to reveal the ways in which the structure of the stage was used to ensure the audibility of offstage sounds, to control the visibility of characters, to convey fictional locales, to create specific moods and atmospheres and to maintain a frequently shifting balance between fictional and theatrical realities. [From Publisher]
Performance Spaces and Stage Technologies
Call Number: E-book
The contributors examine the history of performance from the perspective of theatre spaces and stage technologies. Art, literature, religion, law, urbanism, architecture, technology - this interdisciplinary book discusses how these fields relate to theatre and performance. Geographically, it covers a significant portion of the globe; chronologically, it ranges from ancient times to the present. This book provides a timely attempt to combine cultural and global history. [From Publisher]

Primary Sources

A lot of our databases are Eurocentric so please keep that in mind when you are looking at them. You might need to use the search box in "Search Everything at Once" if you are looking for primary sources in a global context.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of full text scholarly journals and books across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Browse images to find ArtSTOR collections. 3 to 5 year embargo is common.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Early English Books Online (EEBO) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A digital facsimile edition of virtually every book published in English between 1473 - 1700.

Permitted Uses for this Database
Eighteenth Century Journals I & II This link opens in a new window
Full text access to rare journals and newspapers printed between 1685 and 1815.
Permitted Uses for this Database
English Historical Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents on British history: political, social, economic, religious and cultural history.

Over 5,500 documents from 13 volumes including American Colonial Documents (previously out of print)
Documents selected by generations of eminent historians, and their comment provides context for each document
Sources include government and cabinet proceedings, military dispatches, newspaper articles, pamphlets, personal and official letters and diaries
All documents are available to print and download for use in coursework.
Coverage: 500 - 1914.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Facsimile editions of over 136,000 books, plays, essays, broadsides and more published in the 18th century.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
The nineteenth century was the first great age of industrialization and technological innovation. It was an age of political revolution and reform, nationalism and nation building, the expansion of empire and colonialism, growing literacy and education, and the flowering of culture—both popular and high. It was an age that witnessed the development of the power-driven printing press and a massive explosion of written material that dwarfed the output of the centuries that preceded it. Any undertaking that attempts to synthesize the vast array of nineteenth-century content may be at best only provisionally comprehensive. [From Provider]
Permitted Uses for this Database
InteLex Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Full text books or collections by seminal figures in the humanities and social sciences, including: Aquinas, Aristotle, Austen, Behn, Betham, Bronte, Calvin, Darwin, Dewey, Dickens, etc., in both original languages and English translation; including their published and unpublished works, articles and essays, and correspondence.
Permitted Uses for this Database

V & A Museum: Theatre and Performance
This resource looks at the items from the V&A Theatre Collections.

Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents covering Colonial history, politics, culture and society, arranged into 5 themes: cultural contact, 1492-1969; literature and empire (poetry, prose, drama); the visible empire (photographs, illustrations); religion and empire; and race, class, imperialism and colonialism, c1607-2007.
Permitted Uses for this Database
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections: 1-5(EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Historical periodicals from 1691 to 1912. Mainly American content but some Canadian. Covers all subject areas.
Permitted Uses for this Database

The-Noh.com
Includes images of Noh masks.
Shakespeare's Restless World
Objects from the British Museum are used as discussion points about Shakespeare and his works. Click on the item and then listen to the podcast.
Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design
Valuable resource for history of theatre and costume design. Materials include costume and set designs, sketches, notes, photographs, prop lists, storyboards, and swatches of fabric.

Search Everything at Once

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

Search our Book Collection

Try searching:

"Dramatic production" 17th century

Stage-setting and scenery

THEA 204 / ENGL 234, Performance History II: 1600-1900 (Anna Griffith)

Need help? Ask us!

Need more help? Book an appointment with me

Secondary Sources

Primary Sources

Search Everything at Once

Search our Book Collection