Skip to main content
UFV A - Z | myUFV | Academic Calendar | IT Help Desk | Library | MyClass | Directory

/library

The Newman Western Canadian Cookbook Collection: Welcome

A Special Collection of culinary titles from the provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia as well as the Yukon and Northwest Territories.

The Cookbooks

Good Food Tells a Story

The Library created a cookbook of the favourite recipes gathered from the UFV faculty and staff
as a fundraiser for the Newman Collection.  In it you will find recipes and stories as diverse as the staff and faculty who submitted them.  From baked salmon tails,  to  Wareneki, to Rabbit, Madrid Artist-Style or Figgy Duff and Nanaimo Bars, there is something for everyone.  
Partial proceeds from the sale of Good Food Tells a Story will go towards building the Newman Collection.

Click here to order a copy online.

 

 

About the Newman Collection

The Newman Western Canadian Cookbook Collection is named for the family of Dr Lenore Newman, UFV's Canada Research Chair in Food Security and the Environment.  Dr Newman was the driving force behind the establishment of the collection in the Fall of 2014.  Her research interests include food security; sustainable food systems/urban food systems; place, space, and urban nature; and urban spatial geography.   

Dr Newman writes that the community cookbook came into its own in the early twentieth
century as printing costs fell drastically, allowing groups to put together collections of local recipes as a fundraising tool. Thousands of such books were produced, and recipes that had developed locally were passed around the western world. The recipes preserved in these books describe a way of life that is quickly becoming as remote as the world of the Romans. In their pages these little books preserve the day to day existence of people now gone, and from the books of UFV’s new culinary collection we can study the lives of the people who settled Western Canada. In particular they capture voices that were not well represented in other ways at the time; cookbooks expose the lives of women, and the lives of minorities. Timely preservation of these books is now critical, as they are all too often discarded over time. Their preservation ensures future researchers will have access to a critical period in the development of Canada. We are a diverse nation, and have come to understand each other in part through the sharing of food.

It is our hope that researchers from the academic and professional realms will find a wealth of information within the pages of these cookbooks to inspire further inquiry and creativity.

Top 5 Resources

Short on time? Just want to dive right in? Start here.

To the Table

P21939 - Used with permission from the Reach Archives

P15745 - Used with permission from the Reach Archives

NA-5600-7110a - Glenbow Museum and Archives

NA-3939-4 - Glenbow Museum and Archives

NA-2864-59b - Glenbow Museum and Archives

MIKAN 3387011 - Library and Archives Canada

MIKAN 4302101 - Library and Archives Canada

1999.029.021.028 - Chilliwack Progress Collection; used with permission

PP500387 - Chilliwack Museum & Archives; used with permission

PP501373 - Chilliwack Museum & Archives; used with permission

1996.037.009 - Chilliwack Museum & Archives; used with permission

Celebrating the Newman Western Canadian Cookbook Collection - September 24th

On September 24th, 2015, the UFV and broader community gathered together for a celebration of UFV Library's new Special Collection - the Newman Western Canadian Cookbook Collection.  We unveiled our new UFV Cookbook of favourite recipes, Good Food Tells a Story, as well as celebrating the MSA Museum's publication of Abbotsford: from Village to City.

Click here for images from that wonderful evening.

 

Need help? Ask us!

Abbotsford
(604) 854-4545
Chilliwack
(604) 795-2824
Chat with an AskAway Librarian

About your privacy: Your use of the AskAway chat reference service is voluntary. To maintain your privacy, do not provide personal information (e.g., name, email address) as data may be stored in the U.S. and subject to their laws.

© University of the Fraser Valley,
33844 King Road, Abbotsford, B.C., Canada V2S 7M8