When reading scientific articles, you will probably encounter vocabulary that you do not understand. What do you do? And where do you go for answers? Perhaps places like Google? Wikipedia? Encyclopedias? Dictionaries?
Check out the sources below for our suggestions on looking for scientific definitions.
Using Google to Find Definitions
Chances are you're pretty familiar with Google, but did you know there's a way to hone in on definitions? Use the keyword define:, followed by a word or short phrase, as in this example:
define: tetrahydrocannabinol
Which Definitions Are Best?
Google draws its definitions from a wide variety of sources, including basic dictionaries, Wikipedia, and more. Look for sources that are more academic in nature, such as those from universities, government, and scientific organizations or research institutes.
About AccessScience
AccessScience is a multi-media scholarly reference source in the area of science and technology, that includes the following publications: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Yearbook of Science & Technology, and approximately 3,500 biographies of scientists.
Sample Reference
Piomelli, D. (2014). Endocannabinoids. In AccessScience. McGraw-Hill Education. https://doi.org/10.1036/1097-8542.900118
Search selected dictionaries and encyclopedias from Oxford University Press:
About Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online provides access to many key Oxford dictionaries and reference works across a broad subject spectrum. The database can be searched as a whole, limited to one or more subjects, or limited to one or more individual books.
Sample Reference
Tetrahydrocannabinol. (2016). In Rennie, R. (Ed.), A dictionary of chemistry. Retrieved from http://www.oxfordreference.com/
Note: make sure you cite the title of the specific dictionary or encyclopedia (e.g., A Dictionary of Chemistry), not Oxford Reference.