LibGuides UFV: ENGL 104, Introduction to Creative Writing (Carl Peters): Websites

Sampling of Primary Sources

Primary sources are first-hand or contemporary accounts of an event or topic and can include:

photographs
speeches
diaries
letters
minutes
artifacts
sound or video recordings
interviews
newspapers, oral histories, memoirs offer first hand accounts

Abbotsford Sumas & Matsqui News
The UFV Library has digitized 1922-1946 and made the content freely and openly available online. This amounts to approximately 17,000 digital pages.
BC Historical Newspapers
The BC Historical Newspapers project features digitized versions of historical papers from around the province. The titles, which range from the Abbotsford Post to the Ymir Mirror, date from 1859 to 1995.
Canadian Encyclopedia
The Canadian Encyclopedia plays an essential role in providing Canadians and others with accurate, updated information about our people and country.
Canadian War Brides
Information about "war brides," the estimated 48,000 young women who met and married Canadian servicemen during the Second World War.
Canadiana Online
Canada’s most popular archival collections encompassing roughly 40 million pages of primary-source documents.
Associated with other databases, Heritage and Early Canadiana Online
Hastings Park 1942
Japanese internment at Hastings Park, Vancouver. This website brings together personal reflections about this time spent in Hastings Park, along with historical photographs, archival materials, and artistic responses.
I Know We'll Meet Again: Correspondence and the Forced Dispersal of Japanese Canadians
This digital exhibition on Japanese Canadian forced dispersal and internment features materials from the Joan Gillis fonds, housed at the University of British Columbia Library's Rare Books and Special Collections.
Newman Western Canadian Cookbook Collection
In their pages these little books preserve the day to day existence of people now gone, and from the books of UFV’s new culinary collection we can study the lives of the people who settled Western Canada. In particular they capture voices that were not well represented in other ways at the time; cookbooks expose the lives of women, and the lives of minorities.
The Reach (Abbotsford) Online Photo Archive
A selection of photos from the extensive collection at the Reach will be available to search by place, year, topic and subject.
The Reach (Abbotsford) Online Collections Database
The Reach’s material culture collection is accessible online and is searchable across several fields (including Search for People) and by Random Images.
VPL Historic Photograph Collection
The online Historical Photographs Database provides access to over 38,000 digitized images. We are continuing to scan images and add them to the website. (The physical collection now consists of more than 200,000 black and white negatives and prints.)

Evaluating Sources

Although librarians have carefully compiled these sources, there is no substitute for your own evaluation. Use the following guides to help you.

CARS Evaluation Checklist
CARS = Credibility, Accuracy, Reasonableness, and Support
The CRAAP Test
CRAAP = Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose
Critical Evaluation of Information Sources
Questions to ask, and where to find the answers when evaluating sources

Writing Tips and Suggestions

The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Writing tips, Citation Style Guides and more.
Research Paper
From the UFV Academic Success Centre

YouTube EDU

View videos from YouTube's postsecondary education channel:

Effective Writing Videos