Discover articles, books, videos, images, statistics, and more from the Library's print and online collections
When you have done your search, don’t forget to use the limiters. The main ones are:
| Available in Library Collection.............. | you will be able to read the articles/books online or find them in the library |
| Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journals ..... | if you need journal articles only |
| Print Books........................................ | limits mainly to our physical book, collection |
| Subject ................................................... | a listing of alternative keywords that you can use to improve your search |
| Geography............................................... | want to limit to Canada? use this |
| Limit by Database ................................ | gives you a list of the databases that have been searched (from here you can limit to only one database) |
|
There are a small number of databases which are not pre-indexed in the EBSCO's central index, including Canadian Business and Current Affairs, Canadian Newsstand, and CPI-Q. The database names are displayed on the right side of the screen. You may click on the database to view the additional search results. |
 |
|
Remember to use this toolbar to easily:
Email yourself the article
Cite your article (provides the citation in many different styles)
Permalink links to the article whether you are on or off campus. Use this link to email to your professor, or classmates. |
 |
System Requirements
In order to effectively use all EBSCOhost features, the minimum browser requirements are Internet Explorer 7.0, Firefox 8.0, Google Chrome 16, and Safari 5.1 (for Macintosh). You must also have Adobe ® Reader® installed to view the PDF Full Text files. If you are using Visual Search, you must also install Adobe ® Flash Player 8.0 or higher.
Custom made UFV tutorials:
Tutorials from the service provider:
Reference books provide background information on a topic, such as definitions of terms, key figures and events, and well written overviews. They can be a useful starting point for any research project, because they fill in missing knowledge about the topic or provide you with the language of the discipline.
Examples searches:
Example searches:
Search selected dictionaries and encyclopedias from Oxford University Press:
Example searches:
"The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. "
Books are good place to start because they give you the bigger picture of a topic. They give you introductory information as well as current trends of thought.
Use the library catalogue by changing the words or phrase field to author and search Environment Canada. Or you could try using one of the subject headings links below
Example subject headings:
Browse Environmental Sciences
| In Chilliwack | In Abbostford | |
| GE 1 - GE 100 | GE 1 - GE 100 | Environmental Sciences |
Remember to limit your search to videos, on the left.
Example subject headings:
[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]
Example subject headings:
[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]
Example subject headings:
Some useful strategies for successfully finding books in the UFV library:
When searching for items with the library catalogue:
In order to find a book on the shelf, you need a call number and the location. Here’s an example: GE 170 B48 2011 Stacks
Once you have a call number, you can browse that section of the shelves for more on the same subject.
“E-books” are available electronically, no call number needed. Just click on the 
link.
"Just Received” items are not available but you can place a hold on them to get them quickly.
“On Order” items are in the process of being purchased. This can take a long time so look for something else.
You can also request books from other campuses as well as place holds on books that are checked out.
Remember that books take a long time to be published so often their information is out of date. If you are looking for current up-to-date research, you need to look for peer-reviewed journal articles. You cannot find journal articles using the library catalogue.
Although librarians have carefully compiled these sources, there is no substitute for your own evaluation. Use the following guides to help you.
To avoid searching through endless unreliable websites, improve your google searches from the start.
Use these as part of your search:
site:.edu (to search only U.S. universities), e.g. "environmental protection" site:.edu
site:.ac.uk (to search only UK Universities), e.g "carbon offsetting" site:.ac.uk
site:.gov (to search the US gov website.)
site:.gc.ca OR site:.canada.ca (to search the Canadian gov website.)
site:.org (to search organizations)
Also include words like disseration, thesis, or pdf to bring up more reliable documents.
Try "carbon offsetting" pdf site:.gc.ca
When you need current, up-to date information, it is best to look for journal articles. Journal articles in peer-reviewed journals assume that you know the basics about the subject.
Here is a list of research databases that will work best. Remember that each database will give you different results so try each one.
Examples searches:
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Another way to find journal articles is to try and find the references listed in your readings. For example to find this citation:
Cakmak, S., Dales, R., Kauri, L.M. et al. (2014). Metal composition of fine particulate air pollution and acute changes in cardiorespiratory physiology. Environmental Pollution, 189, 208-214.
Copy the journal title, Coastal Engineering, and go to the UFV Journals List . Paste the journal title into the search box and see what database offers online access.
In this case, ScienceDirect. Make sure to double check the dates of coverage because the search only checks the journal title. In this case the coverage starts in 1995 so we are okay. Click on the ScienceDirect link and enter the article title "Metal composition of fine particulate air pollution" into the search box. You should then be able to locate the actual article.
If you are not happy with your results using the other suggested databases, try these following databases. Also remember that the main search box at the top of this page searches many databases all together.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Statistics are useful in many ways; in addition to enhancing one's understanding of a subject, they can provide persuasive evidence for a point of view. You can find statistics on just about any topic, but it helps to first ask yourself some key questions about the data you're seeking:
In other words, It's helpful to consider where you might reasonably expect to find the data - this can save you hours of fruitless searching.
The Concise APA HandbookIf you think you need to talk to a librarian, there are a variety of ways to get in contact.
Just click on the link below, chose your location and you can choose a specific librarian or select "no preference."
